Homemade Pancakes

 I’m on a roll here with my homemade laundry detergent, clothesline, and now pancakes from scratch.  It’s rather shocking!

Oh yeah, baby.

I started making this pancake endeavor with the help of my brother’s wife, Aunt D.   Aunt D is incredibly gifted in the kitchen and puts up with my often ridiculous questions regarding all things that have to do with cooking.  And let me assure you, I have thrown some wacky questions at her in the past.

The pancake recipe is from The Good Housekeeping Cookbook that belonged to my grandmother:

Old cookbooks really are little treasures!

I loved reading over this one with Aunt D during one of our visits.

_______________

Pancakes:

1 1/4 C all purpose flour (or you could use 1/2 C whole wheat flour and 3/4 C all purpose for added nutrition)

2 1/2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

3 T granulated sugar (I use brown sugar and it makes it taste like butterscotch!)

1 egg, beaten

1 C milk

3 T melted butter

1 t vanilla extract

Sift flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt together.  I whisk them together because my sift has not exactly been cooperating.

Combine egg, milk, butter, and vanilla and add to dry ingredients all at once.  Mix with a spoon just until smooth (don’t over mix).  If you use whole wheat flour, you may need to add more milk.  Sometimes the batter is too thick and adding milk helps with that.  Pour onto griddle and flip when you start to get bubbles.

________

I’m telling you, this recipe is delicious.

 My kids love them and they are cheaper and healthier than the frozen ones or the pancake mixes from the store.

Hmmm….What should I make next?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anti-Supermom
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:00:13

    Girl, you *are* on a roll 🙂

  2. hyperactivelu
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 18:13:16

    Always open for a new pancake recipe!! Trying yours tonight! :o)

Leave a comment