7 Quick Takes

–1–

I am writing this post on my iPhone via the WordPress app.  Not only am I typing my post, but I can insert pictures, check stats, and revise drafts.  Dude.  So awesome.

–2–

Frog is tripping all.the.time.  He’s almost 19 months.  I’m wondering if this is a growth spurt or if he is taking after me, Little Miss Clumsy.

–3–

Frick swam in the time trials for his swim team last night.  Frack would have swam, too, but had to miss it for his baseball game.  Frick’s routine for swimming in meets last year was to swim, swim, hang on the lane rope.  Repeat.  Repeat again and again.  That usually left him with a time of around 3 minutes for a 25 yard race.  That’s really slow, if you aren’t familiar with competitive swimming.  He did get faster by the end of the season, cutting his time down to 1:59 (1 minute, 59 seconds).  Last night, a different Frick showed up on the starting block.  This little guy dove jumped in and swam, swam, swam.  He never reached for the lane rope.  His time?  1 minute.  What a difference a year makes!!

–4–

Meanwhile, BP had Frack at the ball field for his game.  He “played” pitcher (this league is coaches pitch), but really just fielded balls.  If you haven’t ever seen a bunch of 5 year olds play ball, you must go for the entertainment value.  When a ball is hit to anywhere in the field, ALL the players run after it.  The coaches have a challenging time getting the kids to stay in their positions.  Since Frack was right there on the pitching mound, he was thrilled to have at least 5 balls come straight at him. But his favorite thing is to run the bases and slide into them.  The evidence is on his white pants that I have to soak in OxyClean after each game.

–5–

Frick’s obsession with Cars the movie has yet to subside.  He is stoked for the debut of Cars 2 on June 24. He already has planned our evening.  I’m not surprised our Event Coordinator Extraordinaire already has this one in the books, are you?  It will be the night of our 11th anniversary and we couldn’t think of a better way to spend it other than with our boys.

–6–

I have started reading the Mitford Series by Jan Karon.  I really love reading series books and sequels.  I find when I really like a book, I become totally invested and absorbed in the characters.  So having a sequel to read just makes my day.  Speaking of books….

–7–

I am so excited that one of my favorite authors, Dorothea Benton Frank, has a new book coming out on June 14th called Folly Beach.  Last year, I went to a book signing for her book, Lowcountry Summer.  Dot Frank is hilarious in person.  Meeting her was one of the highlights of my summer.

What books are you reading now?

_____

Stop by Conversion Diary for more quick takes.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen@odbt
    May 27, 2011 @ 15:33:40

    I think I’m more excited about Cars2 than my son. I’m a little sad that he’s outgrown Cars…they were such a big part of his toddler/preschool life.

  2. Anti-Supermom
    May 31, 2011 @ 22:49:14

    OMGosh, I know so many people that are planning on attending opening night for Cars 🙂 I’m pretty excited about it too (don’t tell my kids).

  3. Jenny Modesitt
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:51:16

    Wow! That sure is a fancy app for your phone.

    I’m glad my kids don’t know about Cars2…I can’t imagine how crowded the theater will be!

    I’m reading a book about marketing…exciting sounding, right?

  4. Krystyn
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:53:01

    Crap, that last comment was me! Sorry!

    Wow! That sure is a fancy app for your phone.

    I’m glad my kids don’t know about Cars2…I can’t imagine how crowded the theater will be!

    I’m reading a book about marketing…exciting sounding, right?

Leave a Reply

