Dude. Three Years Is a Long Time.

…life’s about a dream has been around for three years.

Sheesh.

It doesn’t seem that long.

But then again, in my mind, I am still 20 years old and a size 8.

I digress….

My virtual scrapbook/baby book has evolved into quite a creative outlet.  I am able to update my family and friends in far off places (sniff, sniff) and right here in Downtown, Smalltown, Southeastern USA with pictures and anecdotes.  I have reconnected with my ΑΧΩ sisters from Clemson and discovered several readers are sisters, too!

I usually do a post commemorating this momentous occasion where the behind the scene secrets of the blog are revealed.  Without further ado…

Behind the Scenes, Version 3.0:

__________________________

During Christmas 2007, BP was doing computer stuff with a coworker here at The Money Pit (more on that later) for several days in a row.  During a break, the coworker told me his wife had a blog.

A what??

HyperactiveLu was the first blog I ever read.   Through hers, I started reading others.  Then, one Saturday morning, BP came to me and said, “I set a blog up for you.  It should be much easier than the website we have.”

Whah-lah.

A blog was born.

The title …life’s about a dream came from Frick.  He was actually singing the song, “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and instead of singing, “life is but a dream” he sang, “life’s about a dream”.  We thought that was pretty profound, especially coming from a three year old (at the time).  And, it is what it is.  Our life is a dream.  BP had his sister make it into a sticker above our back door.

He calls it our mantra.

I call it cute.


BP’s name is derived from his initials.  It’s also short for Big Papa, taken from the song Big Poppa by Biggie Smalls.  It’s my ringtone for BP because he’s cool like that.  Or I’m even cooler like that.

Frick and Frack are nicknames for our older boys.  I used to teach part time in the public schools, job sharing a classroom with another girl.  She and I would joke around, calling ourselves Frick and Frack.  I thought it was clever and started calling the boys Frick and Frack around the house.   It worked well for the blog since I didn’t want our names “out there” in cyberspace.  Sometimes we refer to them as Chaos and Havoc (because they prefer wrestling as an after school activity) or The Farmers (because they are up with the sun each morning).  Uncle B tried to get me to change their blog names to Fred and Barney.  Click HERE for that reasoning.  Alas, Frick and Frack remain.

Frog is the nickname for our newest little guy, born in November, 2009.  After asking the blogosphere for ideas for a nickname, there was quite the debate as to what his nickname would be.  Frog was chosen because some of the other nicknames had  interesting connotations.   Sometimes I refer to him as The Newborn, but obviously he’s not one of those anymore.

Some of our posts refer to a place called The Money Pit. That’s our 110 year old house.  We started a major renovation process here in May 2008.  In true renovation fashion, our budget tripled as they began to chip away at our house.  The Fix It Guys kept uncovering all kinds of damage.  And our bill kept growing.  Hence, The Money Pit.  Like the movie.  Only better.  Then, BP started finishing the inside of the house while I was in Pittsburgh visiting Uncle B, Aunt D and Steeler Training Camp. It was my very own HGTV show!

2010 brought something new around the blog.  I set up a Facebook Fan Page to update my friends who don’t use a reader like Google or Bloglines.  I prefer updating the fan page instead of my personal FB page, but sometimes share the links on both pages.  So if you are not a fan yet and you keep up with us via Facebook, you may want to click that “like” button on the FB link to know about blog updates.  Mom, I am talking to you. K.  Thanks.

Dreamers refers to you, my loyal readers of …life’s about a dream.   As I said above, this is a virtual scrapbook for my children and our memories.  But when I see that others are reading and commenting here on the blog, on Facebook, or through emails, I know my words are not just for us.  And that’s flattering.  Thank you for reading.  And commenting.  🙂

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 09:17:58

    Congrats & Happy Blogoversary! 🙂

  2. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 16:09:15

    Happy Blogoversary! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and your family. Keep documenting and writing.

  3. Jaina
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 18:33:01

    Congrats! Three years is awesome! Here’s to a fabulous fourth and fifth!

  4. Heather
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 13:29:58

    3 years is a long time, but yet not long at all! I love to follow you and maybe one of these days we will actually get to meet!

  5. Dana
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:13:19

    I remember when I first read this story when I was making friends long distance in preparation for our move here..

    Chloe’s version of “Row Row Your Boat” is, “Like a Palace Dream”… The difference between boys and girls is remarkable even early on.

    I love you friend.

  6. Krystyn
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:31:32

    Happy THREE years! So exciting.

Leave a Reply

