Homemade Laundry Detergent: An Update

Making my own laundry detergent was something I was going to try.

If it worked, great.

If not, oh well.

Remember, I am not a Susie Homemaker.  Although I secretly wish I was.

This crazy idea of homemade laundry detergent has not only worked, it’s been awesome.

Why?

1.  Frick and Frog’s eczema has disappeared.

Vanished.  Gone.  Adios.

In the recipe I referred to, Ivory was the soap of choice.  We have since found that Frick is allergic to Ivory  and it really aggravates his eczema.  I didn’t think anyone was allergic to Ivory. Sheesh.

2.  I am still using some of the original materials purchased and it’s been 6 weeks.

I have a little less than half of the Borax and soda wash remaining.  I have bought 2 additional bars of Fels Naptha at .99 a piece.  But that soap smells so deliciously clean, I’d pay $5 a bar if I necessary.

3.  It smells sooooo good.  And clean.

which leads me to number four….

4.  Our clothes are clean and smell fresh.

_______

Here’s the recipe I am using:

1/2 bar of Fels Naptha soap, shaved

1 C of Borax

1 C of Arm and Hammer Soda Wash (not to be confused with baking soda)

It’s stored in a baby wipe container and I use around a tablespoon to 3 tablespoons, depending on load size and how soiled the clothes are.

I’m serious, y’all.  If I can do it, anyone can.

Pete and Sally, my washer and dryer, love it, too.

As front loading HE machines, they prefer low suds.  And this recipe is very low suds.

__________

I haven’t used the clothesline lately because the pollen has been out of control.

Yellow everywhere.

It is beginning to subside, but I plan on waiting until May or June for more clothesline capers.

Poor BP would have a sneezing attack on the spot if he rested his head on a line dried pillowcase in the spring.

And since I prefer to sleep without interruption, lined dried sheets will have to wait.

So.  I’m curious….

Did you try making your own laundry detergent?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 12:14:13

    Amazing. Are all these ingredients available at the store?

  2. Mimi
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:25:41

    ooooh, wow! Very cool.

  3. Jana (sidetrack'd)
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 17:26:56

    I’ve been contemplating making my own detergent. I think I might gather the ingredients this weekend.

    I can’t use Ivory either; it has always wreaked havoc on my skin.

  4. Cassie
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 20:32:10

    Ok, now I’m really interested b/c Jackson has eczema too. Question: Can you get the soap & soda wash at any grocery store or do you have to go somewhere special for it?

  5. Jaime
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 21:00:12

    Fun, Mandy – you might have just convinced me to give it a try! Can you buy the Fels Naptha soap at a regular store, or do you have to find it somewhere special?

  6. Mandy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 21:29:51

    Yes! You can find it in the laundry aisle. All three products were actually together. :). I hope you guys are well!

    Mandy

    Sent from my iPhone

  7. The Storm Chaser
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 13:45:39

    I did it!! I love it!! And I’ll be doing it again!!
    Thanks, girlie!!

  8. Karla
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 00:50:49

    I use this recipe….It’s great!!!!

  9. Kelly
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 21:48:33

    I have a daughter who has eczema real bad. I was wondering if I could use cetiphil bar soap instead? That’s what she uses in the shower and seems to do well with it.
    Thank you Kelly

  10. Jackie
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 20:24:11

    I have been making mine for about a year. I will NEVER go back to the high dollar Gain I used previously. Also, one additional plus… I have never had to clean my HE machine using this soap. It is fabulous and the savings is amazing!

  11. Mandy
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 08:16:14

    I don’t see why not…As I mentioned in the post, I tried Ivory and that really aggravated my son’s eczema. It’s worth a try! Have you ever tried the Fels Naptha? It’s very gentle and it doesn’t bother my son.

  12. Mandy
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 08:17:44

    I know!! Don’t you love it? And it’s so easy. People think it’s a pain and hard to make, but it’s really not.

Leave a Reply

