Land Line vs Cell Phone

We haven’t had a land line since June 28.

And not by choice.

Lightning struck our block that day and wiped out water lines, phone lines, and internet routers/modems.

It’s been an expensive two weeks.

We are thinking of nixing the land line all together.

I posted my thoughts on Facebook last night and got some interesting info:

*some keep a dial tone for emergency use (911) or alarm systems

*most everyone who posted did away with their land line several years ago

*you can still dial 911 without service (this one currently does not apply to us because our line is FRIED and that would require the $200+ service fee we have been trying to avoid)

*alarm systems can be updated to wireless so your cell number can be used

* you can register your cell phone number on smart911 for emergency use

________

But, for me, what it boils down to is this:

That phone number has been our identity since we became engaged.

It was the first thing we shared.

It’s as if my best friend is moving away from me.

It’s hard to just “cut it off”.

sniff sniff

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Beth Cooper
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:41:30

    We’ve debated that too Mandy…it’s like a safety net kind of thing, because it is always there and in a way it is like having to say good bye. Growing up, that is all there was….it is like saying good bye to something from your childhood. We have not been able to do it yet, but maybe someday!

  2. Anti-Supermom
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 11:18:32

    So funny, I was completely attached to ‘our’ number too. But, I have it listed on several accounts still, so it’s not like it’s *not* there… that helps 😉

    We did away with our land line last year, it’s been wonderful!

  3. Cassie
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 14:27:11

    No one in my family except for my MIL still has a land line. We even convinced my 77 year old grandmother to give up hers about a year ago because it was cheaper to put her on a family plan with my aunt & uncle. It does make me a little nostalgic though- that my kids will probably never have to fight b/c one was listening in on the others phone call (ha! my sister & I did that all of the time).

  4. Bethany Hamilton Barfoot
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 19:38:33

    You can tell who’s been in our area a long, long time by the first three numbers of the land line.

  5. Holly-- The Storm Chaser
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 23:50:14

    My favorite part about having cell-phones only is the ability to “drop a call” when I need to get off the phone. 🙂

  6. MC
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 22:14:51

    We dumped our land line 2 1/2 years ago….hum…. nope, we don’t miss it. we have cell phones, we have the internet, we still have an alarm system. What we don’t have is an extra $70 bucks going to the phone company every month! It’s another way to save money for us.

Leave a Reply

