Mother’s Day Run Down

Mother’s Day was great.

While I missed hanging out with my own mom (who was visiting my brother and his family in Pittsburgh) I enjoyed the gifts and love shown by my family.

Frick made a sweet bouquet of flowers at school.  Upon each flower was something he was going to do for me:

–Let me sleep in.  (check–8:30am)

–Breakfast in bed. (check–coffee and donuts from DD)

–Help wash dishes.  (no dishes to wash yesterday, as we had lunch at BP’s grandmother’s house and dinner was leftovers on paper plates)

–Leave me alone for a whole day.  (I was able to go shopping by myself and read my book on the front porch)

–Help feed Frog, but I will not change a dirty diaper!  (LOL)

–Play nicely with Frack.  (whatever)

_______

From Frack, I received an adorable picture frame made at school (not a surprise to me because my class made them, too.  Oops).  There was a fill in the blank paper as well that included some of these finer points:

“My mom is 100 years old.”–GAH

“Her favorite thing to do is laundry.”–Must be all of the homemade laundry detergent and the fact that I do a bazillion loads of laundry each week.   I assure you, it’s not my favorite thing to do.

“She always laughs when I tickle Frog.” –True.  It’s cute to see them bond.

________

As thankful as I am to be a mother, my heart was heavy for those who have lost a mother and for those who would give ANYTHING to be a mother.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    May 09, 2011 @ 20:57:03

    100 years old? LOL Glad you had a great day!

  2. MaryKelly
    May 11, 2011 @ 12:12:21

    I just filled up reading this…thank you…

  3. Pooba
    May 11, 2011 @ 18:41:09

    Ha! I love asking kids how old they think I am. It’s either like 12 or 60!

  4. Anti-Supermom
    May 12, 2011 @ 15:28:00

    Mandy, sounds like the perfect Mother’s day! Minus being 100 and all though 😉

Leave a Reply

