Event Coordinator Extraordinaire

As you already know, Frick has become quite the writer, demonstrating his skills in class.

He continues to wow us all by writing letters to his friends.

This past Monday, he passed out a little ditty to a few of his friends about a bike show being held here at our house on Saturday (TOMORROW) at 1:00.

He explained there would be snacks and games as well.

Sounds like fun, yes?

Fast forward to this morning.

As I was greeting my students this morning, a parent walked into my classroom asking if I was ready for tomorrow.

“Ready for what?”  I replied.

“The bike show at your house.”

“What bike show?”

“The one Frick sent a note home inviting us to.”

“What?!”

LOL

My little event coordinator forgot to notify the one person who needed to know.

And that person would be

ME.

I pulled him out of his classroom and explained that the idea of a bike show was a fabulous one. But permission must be obtained from the parental units BEFORE invitations are sent out.

“But I did ask,” said Frick.

“What was my response?”

“You said ‘Not now.'”

Well then.

I further explained that “not now” means just that–not now–and he was to write a letter explaining to his friends that we would have to do this bike show another time.

Sheesh.

So funny.  So sweet and innocent.  So exasperating!

______

A little foreshadowing, thanks to a colleague listening to the story at recess:

He will be the one to throw a party when BP and I are out of town.

Note to self:

Don’t leave the boys home alone.

Ever.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 15:55:27

    I know who I’m hiring for my next event. Sounds like he’s got a future in PR.

  2. nini
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:50:57

    Mom, you said “not now”….so he scheduled the show for Sat. That’s totally acceptable in my book. You’re the one who goofed!

  3. Mandy
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 17:20:39

    Touche Nini! Now quit defending your little grandson. 🙂

  4. Anti-Supermom
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 22:58:08

    But that’s some initiative, wow! I’m so impressed and I’m betting that you would have been surprised with a few kids showing up at your doorstep. LOL!

Leave a Reply

