Who Is She and What Has She Done with Mandy?

I can’t believe I did it.

I am sooooo not a Susie Homemaker.

But I did it any way.

I made my own laundry detergent for Pete and Sally.

I used the information from DIY Natural, which calls for:

1 bar of Fels Naptha soap, shaved

1 C of Borax

1 C of Arm and Hammer Soda Wash (not to be confused with baking soda)

 

**Note: I used half the bar of soap.  The recipe from the DIY Natural website used Ivory and that particular bar is considerably smaller than the Fels Naptha. Then I found this post and it seems my thinking was correct.

_______

Each one of these ingredients were found on the laundry aisle of my local Publix.

It took five minutes to make.

Ok, maybe a little longer because my arms got tired while shaving soap.

I stored it in an empty baby wipe container.

It cost me $7.27 to make this, which is roughly the price of brand name HE detergent.  I imagine it will last much longer than the brand name stuff.   My HE machines, Pete and Sally, don’t like suds.  This recipe does not create a lot of suds.  Pete and Sally are happy machines.

____

And since I have decided to make my own detergent, I thought to myself,

“Why not go for the gold?”

I asked BP to hang a clothesline for me outside.

I have actually used it three times already and I am about to hang towels as soon as I finish this post.

I think I’ve lost my mind.

🙂

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 13:10:23

    You really need to get back to work. HaHa!!

  2. Mandy
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 13:13:09

    LOL Probably so. You’ve missed me, huh? 🙂

  3. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 20:31:55

    Did the soap work well?

  4. Mandy
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 21:17:02

    It’s great! It made my laundry room smell so good and the clothes weren’t so bad either! 🙂

  5. Pooba
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 13:49:59

    What? You have gone mad! Haha! No, I am very impressed!

  6. Sara-Beth
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 21:43:32

    You go girl!! Very impressed. Maybe you should start an assembly line with all your helpers and sell to the rest of us 🙂

  7. MK
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 20:31:54

    I have always had a clothes line, and loved it, in fact I’ve NEVER, ever dried any sheets in my house, I love the way they smell after being outside!…

  8. Sharon
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 16:22:50

    Awesome!!! I recently asked Hyperactive Lu about homemade detergent. I am so tempted to try it. Maybe soon.
    Enjoy your detergent & clothesline! 🙂

Leave a Reply

