Valentine’s Day

My parents have been married 42 years today…Valentine’s Day!

Do you know how hard it is to find one card for a Valentine anniversary?

They.simply.do.not.exist.

 

img_00021

February 14, 1969

Mom had blood poisoning in her leg after she fell down some stairs taking her wedding gown to be altered just days before they said ‘I do’.

Dad lost his false teeth (he’s had them since he was 13 from a football accident) in the days leading up to the wedding, only to be replaced in the nick of time.

But they managed to get hitched anyway.

_________

I posted the above in 2009 for their 40th anniversary.  In the comment section, my mom, Nini, wrote this:

 

Thanks. But Janie (she has called me Janie FOREVER), get your facts straight! It was not my wedding dress, it was my “going away” outfit. We went to Pittsburgh, as our honeymoon weekend in New York was put on hold due to my leg.
You get your clumsiness from me.
Also, Dad did not lose his teeth, that was PapPap!
Daddy bit into a grilled cheese sandwich at noon the day of the wedding. His front teeth broke off.
Hey, that plate lasted ten years; but what a day for an accident.
Still remember the call from Grandma. “Nini, Pops’ teeth broke off. He’s looking for a dentist. He is very upset, ran out of the house yelling he would not be married unless he got his teeth fixed.” There I was, my leg wrapped with an ace bandage, a wheelchair on hold in case I could not limp down the isle, and Pops running around Scottdale Pa. like a crazy person with no front teeth.
Just like when you read the comments of the Mother of a serial killer. “He was perfectly normal. Nothing really stands out.” Oh, how we fail to see the signs. We see them, we just choose to ignore! And, sometimes it lasts forty years!
Did you tell everyone what Dad and I are doing tonight for our anniversary?

____________

To which I replied:

LOL, Mom! I stand corrected. :) I knew it was something to do with teeth and your clothing. I was close.

Whatever.

Why, for your 40th anniversary, you are selflessly babysitting our children so my husband and I can have a romantic night out and make it to 40 years, too!

__________

And BP’s  retort:

Nini said…”what Dad and I are doing tonight for our anniversary?”

Nini, Dear it’s not that kind of a blog. We have to keep it clean for the younger readers. But have fun anyway.

_________

Ahhhh, memories.

Happy Anniversary to Nini and Pops!

And Happy Valentine’s Day to my valentine for the last 13 years!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 13:53:13

    I had forgotten that your parents were married on V-Day! Happy Anniversary to them and Happy V Day to you and your man!! 🙂

  2. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 16:41:48

    Congrats to your parents!!! That was a funny exchange going on too.

  3. Anti-Supermom
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 22:51:13

    Your mom is hilarious, like you! Happiest Anniversary/Valentines day to your parents (and you and DH, for V-day)!

  4. Jenny
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 08:08:18

    Sorry to hear about the strep/viral monster running through your house and children right now (from above). This post is beautifully hilarious. I want your mom and dad! I’m a new follower from Catholic Mothers Online. Please stop by and return the favor.

Leave a Reply

