The Adventures of the Non-Cook Named Mandy

Our E-Mealz menu is in full swing.

Considering I am not a cook, nor do I like to cook, things are going well.  I like actually having a plan and all of the ingredients on hand.

The first night we had breakfast for dinner:  Baked French Toast, bacon, scrambled eggs.  Each boy gobbled it up.  Of course, my children think syrup is a food group (think: Buddy the Elf), so of course this one went over big.  I was even named the Queen of Cooking.

Grade:  A+

___________

The next night was Spicy Tilapia.  Here’s where things got– you guessed it–fishy.  I was excited about cooking and eating this for the first time.  I do not eat seafood.  Bleck.  But if I am trying to get my children to taste new foods, I figured I should hop on that bandwagon.

Everything was going great, until the smoke alarm went off.  Maybe the 500 degree oven was a little too much?   The filets weren’t burned and I considered the alarm to be a fluke.

The tilapia just wasn’t good.  We all pushed it around our plates until BP piped up and said, “I thought this was supposed to be spicy?”

Oh yeah.  That part.  Ummm….  I could not find cayenne in the store and wasn’t about to go to another store with three kids in tow.  When in doubt, leave it out, yes?

But the sauce, even without the cayenne, was very mayonnaise-y and did not really taste great.

Grade:  A for effort (very easy to make), D- for content.

_____________

Saturday night we went out to dinner for Aunt B’s birthday.

Sunday night we ordered pizza with friends while we watched the Steelers make it to the Superbowl.  Sweet!

_______________

Last night I made Turkey Sausage and Potatoes.  This was a big hit with everyone except Frog.  The boys said the “hot dogs” were the best they ever ate.  Ok.  Hot dogs.  Yep.  That’s what they were.  😉

Grade:  A

So far, only one disaster.  No worries, there will be more.

And you’ll be the first to know all about it.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:44:59

    Oh tilapia can be so good. It’s not a fishy fish (if that makes sense). I buy the frozen fillets at Costco and this is so easy and yum. Melt some butter and throw some spices on it (I think there’s a seafood blend in the spice aisle). Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for 7-8 minutes. Done. My kids love it.

  2. hyperactivelu
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 07:12:52

    Hope you continue to have success with this plan, because I want to do it when baby no 4 pops out! Or at least look into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

