Couponing

Do you clip coupons?

I started in June of 2009.  I began tracking my savings in February 2010 and have saved about $2100 since then.

I certainly am NOT a guru on this topic by any means, but I am happy with my results.  Our monthly grocery budget has been cut in half.  I typically save between 45-50% each week (grocery store + CVS trip), but I still wonder how some are having shopping trips where there are savings of 60% and higher.

______

Here’s what I do:

I save the inserts from the Sunday newspaper.  My parents and my next door neighbor save theirs for me as well, so I get duplicate copies.  I organize my lists and clip the coupons from the inserts on Thursdays at nap time (about 2 hours).  I keep the clipped coupons and my list in an envelope, which I carry to Publix.  Taking a huge binder full of thousands of coupons is not appealing to me, mainly because there are times when my children are tagging along.  After all, you all know I have my hands full without a binder.  😉  Shopping with a certain amount of coupons also makes me stick to my list.

My favorite sites that have sales and coupon matchups are:

www.iheartpublix.com

www.southernsavers.com

The ladies who run these sites do a phenomenal job making it very easy to coupon.

I get all of my toiletries at CVS unless they are free at Publix or Kroger.  CVS, RiteAid, and Walgreen’s actually have programs in place where you can earn rebates or store “money” to use at your next visit.  It’s most definitely worth the time to learn how to shop at these places.  Last week, I paid less than a dollar for 2 packs of Huggies diapers at CVS. Southern Savers easily explains how to work the drug stores.

Aside from fresh produce (we have really upped our fruits and veggies intake around here), my shopping trips are typically weekly.

I personally do not stock up on insane amounts of a particular item.  I get what my family needs until the next time the item is on sale.  However, I usually have enough to donate to food drives, local charities and families in need with the amount I buy.

Become familiar with each store’s coupon policy.  They differ from store to store and area to area.  A lot of times the policies are put in place by the local store managers.

I prefer to shop at Publix because:

a) they take your groceries out for you and tipping is not necessary. This is especially helpful to this mom of three children.

b) if you ever have a problem or question they are EXTREMELY helpful and accommodating.

c) they often have additional coupon books available.

_____

There are tons of blogs/sites dedicated to couponing.  If you have any other favorites, list them in the comments.  Again, be sure to read up on store coupon policies so you play fair.

Happy Shopping!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 21:41:30

    Oh I miss CVS! We had them where we lived in MI (used to work there;), but they’re not in the Toledo area.

    I use coupons, and I prefer to use the u-scan line (we don’t have Publix). I mostly shop at Meijer, and they double coupons up to 50 cents. I like to go slow, take my time, and make sure EACH coupon scans/doubles as it should. I get annoyed when someone gets behind me in line, because then I feel rushed! lol
    I always try to check the store’s site for in-store coupons, too. Meijer started this thing recently where you add “digital” in store coupons, too (using your cell #). It’s great. Those, mfr cpns, plus catalinas…gotta love the savings!

    I do NOT do the binder thing. Well, not the 3-ring binder. I use the coupon organizer you can get at the $ store. I mark on my grocery list what I have coupons for, and voila. Works for me so far.

    Enjoy! Awesome job on the savings!

  2. Anti-Supermom
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 10:26:32

    Wow – that’s a huge saving. Good for you guys!

    I save probably $1000 a year shopping at Aldi. Yes, I’m admitting to Aldi… I like saving cash and my boys like putting coins in the carts 😉

  3. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 15:55:53

    I clip coupons too but am no where as organized as you. I have a little flexible folder that stays in my purse and I go through as I shop. It would probably be better if I knew what was I was shopping for before I went.

  4. Jessica
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 22:09:38

    Thanks for posting this…I have been wanted to coupon for awhile, but I’m not very good at it! Hopefully those websites will help me!

  5. Krystyn
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 10:44:46

    We have tried it all. I do coupons here and there, but do my big savings on diapers. There isn’t enough time in the week after working to get all of it done.

    Right now, we are (admittedly) doing our shopping at super wal-mart and saving the most money.

  6. Wendy (The Local Cook)
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 20:22:35

    Yeah, I should coupon. It just seems so difficult! Especially when I read the dizzying array of methods deal bloggers suggest.

  7. Cassie
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 18:12:28

    I always search online for coupons before I go grocery shopping…this is even easier than clipping coupons from the paper to me. I stock up on toiletries when I get really good coupons for them (especially Jason’s…I’ll just buy whatever is cheapest for me but he has to have specific expensive brands!) But then I can usually go like 3 months without having to buy any. Also, I love Target b/c they will pair up a Target store coupon with a manufacturer coupon for the same item.

  8. Saltybaby
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 17:17:34

    Ok, so here’s how I do it. I cut coupons from the sunday insert. match them to the sales in the grocery store papers. If I can, I match a coupon to a BOGO sale item. this works well at Bi-Lo. When I need an item that I do not have a coupon for, I buy the item at Dollar General or Wal-Mart and sometimes, Wal-Mart brand items are cheaper WITHOUT a coupon than the name brand with a copupon. Oh… and Wal-Mart takes coupons too.
    When shopping at Bi-lo, with coupons and catching a Bogo sale and using my Bi-lo bonus card, I have saved up to…..$55.00 at the register! Which was half of my grocery bill! in other words I bought $110.00 worth of goods and only spent $55.00!!! I likes to sava the moolah!

Leave a Reply

