Things I’ve Learned Since Becoming a Mom to Boys

_________________________

Motherhood throws you for a loop.  I still fret over the smallest of issues and baby Frog is my third child.  I have joked with the boys’ pediatrician many times since Frog was born about still feeling like a first time mom.  I don’t think that feeling ever goes away, regardless of the number of children you have.

I was eating lunch with some friends a couple of weeks ago.  All are or will be moms to all boy clans.  Our conversation was wildly entertaining about motherhood and the antics of our children.  Listed below are some of the finer points we covered.

Since school has/is started(ing), the teacher in me is currently demanding these valuable nuggets in a list format:

1.  People are going to say stupid stuff to you while you are pregnant.  Really stupid stuff. You know the comments…“Oh wow. You have really gotten big.” Gee thanks.  “Don’t you know how to stop having kids?  You will never have a girl anyway.” Is it any business of yours how many children I have?  And my personal favorite (insert sarcasm HERE) “Another boy?  You sure are going to have your hands full.” DUH.  Now leave me alone with my chocolate.

2.  It’s OK to ask for help. And I don’t just mean asking someone to cook you dinner.  Although, that would be great.  By the way, this one goes for moms of boys and girls.  I seemed to sail through postpartum with my first.  After having #2, I felt as if I was drowning.  I have never been in a place so dark and isolating, yet I was anything but alone with my supportive family all around me.  I was a victim to postpartum depression and it’s NOT FUN.   If you ever feel this way, don’t be ashamed.  It’s not worth it in the long run.  Get the help you need.  Your kids and husband will thank you.

3.  Having all boys automatically earns you a special place in heaven. God said so.  Ok, maybe that was only in a dream I had, but who else deserves one than a mom of all boys?  I mean, c’mon.  Only the strong can survive the constant wrestling, growling, and bodily functions.  For realz.

4.  Children make you plan for the future. Think about it.  When else do you get your junk together as far as your will, pick out godparents, and start saving for college educations?  Not to mention the hopes and dreams for great daughters in law and  adorable grandDAUGHTERS.  I need to dress SOMEONE in pink.

5.  It’s an excuse to watch more sports. This one may only apply to me, seeing as how I actually taught my husband everything he knows about the sport of hockey (Let’s Go Pens!).  I seriously go into withdrawals when I cannot attend Clemson games or watch Steeler games on TV.  Thanks to my dad, Pops, for instilling this love of sports in me.  My husband thanks you, too.

Life has changed so much since welcoming three sons.

And I wouldn’t change it for anything.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 17:53:41

    Oh, so much of this rings true for our household too. I actually got some tears towards the end of the post….. I love my house full of boys! I am also praying for precious daughters in “love” that I can go shopping with, share motherhood with and love on and have a much better relationship than I do with my own MIL.

    Yesterday as we were in downtown Hendersonville, a lady said “what a crew you have” as we strolled with the “babes” in the double stroller and Bubbie holding my hand! I just smiled and said “yes it is!” So tired of people looking at us like we have aliens as children! 🙂

    From a mother of all boys, press on friend!!! We do have a special place in heaven!!! 😉

  2. Betty
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 19:42:56

    you are so right, moms of boys are so blessed and the little boys are lucky to have you as their mom!

  3. Sharon
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 07:03:43

    This is so very sweet. It, just a teeny bit, makes me wish this one I’m growing will be a boy. 😉

  4. Saltybaby
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 22:49:43

    Yep…Our family is really in a drought as far as having any girls. It’s just Boys, Boys, Boys and more Boys. I’m ready to dress something in pink too!

  5. Dana Ellis
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 13:38:57

    Okay, so match made in heaven for the kids.. But I think that you and I should just go ahead and ask for some anxiety medication just in case!

    Thanks for sharing with us at The Mom-tage!

  6. Christy, Home-Mom.com
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 09:34:37

    We started this train with girls but with #4 on the way it’s looking like a boy will even things out. We have 2 girls and 1 boy and really hoping for a boy but will be blessed no matter what.

    I love how you said you feel like a first time mom still, I do too and was getting down about it. We are new moms with each child because we don’t stay the same. Everything is constantly changing and Mom should be synonymous with change.

    Stopping back by from SITS and thanks for the comment. I’ve never heard of another mom sitting in the bathroom to pump 😉

Leave a Reply

