DEE-Lish

I brined a whole chicken on Friday.

Then roasted it.

This is a big deal for someone who lacks culinary skills.

Some of you may remember this post, comparing myself to Susie Homemaker, which I most certainly am NOT.

But for some reason, I wanted to brine and roast a chicken.

Enter Aunt D.

Everyone should have a sister in law like Aunt D,

who is a fabulous cook.

She talked me through the steps of brining.

Then the steps to roasting.

Then she probably hung up at laughed at me.

I wanted to be just like Amy Adams in the movie Julie and Julia (read the book…it’s even better!).

Instead, I think I came out looking more like Amelia Bedelia.

 

She made a date cake and instead of using dates (the fruit) she cut out squares of a calendar and added them to the cake batter.

Yep.  That’s something I would do.

Actually, I did fine.

And the chicken was divine.

Brine, people.  BRINE.

Alrighty then.  I’m getting a tad carried away with the rhyme….

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate@SurroundedbyPenises
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:57:44

    YAY! Cooking a whole chicken would be major at my house also! But I have a yummy (and easy…as in why didn’t I ever think of that before?!) recipe post coming up Friday…check it out if you can 🙂

  2. hyperactivelu
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 10:24:26

    YAY! for trying something new!!! and doing it fabulously!

  3. Holly
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 17:27:33

    I love Amelia Bedelia books!
    And I completely understand your cooking woes! The recipe sounds good though.

  4. Pooba
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 19:35:29

    I totally forgot about amelia bedelia. For some reason I can really relate to her ;o)

    lol

  5. Dana
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 22:08:21

    D0 you think Aunt D would come laugh at me?

    I’m totally going to have to go to your “brine” link to even find out what it is.

    Glad you didn’t have to sleep in the heat tonight. But, I was secretly hoping for a sleepover ;).

    PS: I LOVE Amelia Bedelia!

Leave a Reply

