Taking My Blog Over Again….

These last few days of 30 Days of Me are going to go out the window.

I should rename it to 25 Days of Me.

Regardless…

I met Dorothea Benton Frank Friday night.

She is a riot.

I have a picture, but we’ll just save it for my personal records.   It has everything to do with the fact that it is a terrible picture of me and having cyberspace view it is just not an option.

I had such a good time listening to her stories about her life and seeing how they parallel the story lines in her books.

Let’s not forget the fun I had drinking some wine with my friend, Jennifer.

Good times.

We also met Karin Gillespie, who was in attendance.  Ms. Gillespie wrote The Bottom Dollar Girls series and The Sweet Potato Queens in collaboration with Jill Conner Browne.

I realized three things that night:

1.  Too much time passed since the last time I went out with friends.  Thanks, Jennifer, for hanging out with me.

2.  I was being a total groupie when meeting those two authors and I didn’t care.

3.  Just like Dot Frank’s character, Caroline, begins to look and act like her mother, Miss Lavinia, I see Nini in the mirror and my actions more and more each day.

It’s a good thing you are cool, Nini.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nini
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 10:28:01

    Ahhhh! What made you say that? I know, the WINE. You’re the best!

  2. Mimi
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 13:33:58

    oooh, I’m a bit jealous! I’m so glad to hear it was a wonderful meeting!

  3. betty
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 21:32:59

    I am so glad you got to meet Ms. Frank,I love her books. If I had known she was here,I would have been there. glad you got out with the girls!

  4. Anti-Supermom
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 23:19:11

    I love the book Sweet Potato Queens – I’d totally be the same way your were.

    And completely understand not wanting a photo of you on the internet, hence my cropping my eyeballs out of my last photo 😉

  5. Pooba
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 09:53:49

    That’s awesome you got to meet Frank and Gillespie, I’ve never met any author that I’ve liked ever!

    And I’m sure the wine didn’t hurt ;o)

  6. Jennifer V
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 17:10:36

    Thanks for inviting me girl!! I will remember this girl’s night for a long time!! Especially when I look at my beautiful knee 🙂 Love ya!!

Leave a Reply

