Day 18: Full Circle

I started swimming on competitive swim teams when I was about 7 years old.  It started with summer league teams and eventually moved onto year round swimming.  I continued the sport when I moved south in 1989, joining our local USA Swimming team.

I was an Ok swimmer, never really a standout.   I just loved the sport.

In 1996, after my sophomore year at Clemson, I was asked to be an assistant coach for the summer league team in which I swam from 1989-1995.

I was the assistant coach again in 1997 and then the head coach in 1998 and 1999.

Now life has come full circle.

Frick is on that very team.

You have no idea how strange it feels to be back at the very same swimming pool to watch my son.  The present day coaches are the kids who were in the 6 and under age group–Frick’s age group–when I coached.  They are in the pool helping my little guy swim like I used to help them.

I did not have tears welling in my eyes as I watched him do this…my eyeballs were just sweating.  A lot.  Yeah, that’s the ticket.

*sniff, sniff*

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 16:55:24

    Sweet!

  2. nini
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 22:16:29

    And I love you for it and many things.

    Pops

  3. Holly
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:53:06

    That’s awesome! What a fun legacy to pass on! So neat.

  4. Saltybaby
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:37:22

    That’s a great story.

  5. Jana (sidetrack'd)
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 14:15:02

    That’s really neat. Hope he has a great time!

Leave a Reply

