Day 4: Favorite Book

I don’t have a favorite book.

I have favorite authors.

Dorthea Benton Frank writes about Lowcountry South Carolina.  I just read on her website there is a sequel to her book Plantation coming out in two weeks.  Guess I am headed to the library to reread Plantation and then the sequel!

Nicholas Sparks pretty much writes the same theme each time, but he manages to reel me in anyway.   Three Weeks with My Brother was the only nonfiction one he wrote and it was fabulous as well.

Emily Giffin writes Something Borrowed, Something Blue, Baby Proof, and Heart of the Matter.  All hilarious and easy reads.

Sohpie Kinsella writes the Shopaholic Series and Twenties Girl.  I just discovered there is a whole other series she writes under the name Madeleine Wickham.  Off to get those reserved, too.

I sure am glad I did this post…

I found my summer reads.

And a Dorthea Benton Frank book signing in my area.

SCORE!

 

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaina
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 11:51:11

    I’ve surprisingly never read those authors. My favorite author is Jane Austen. I’ve heard good things about Nicholas Sparks, but aren’t his books a little…sad? I don’t like sad, I like happy endings.

  2. Mandy
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 12:04:43

    Yes, most of them are sad. I usually end up crying as I plug through them. Try the others…they aren’t nearly as tear-jerking. 🙂

  3. Lisa
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 13:44:02

    Where is the book signing? Maybe we can go!

  4. Uncle B
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 14:34:30

    Nicholas SPARKS!

  5. hyperactivelu
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 14:38:52

    Nicholas Sparks- be still my heart! I started reading his books in high school and I was hooked!!!

  6. Cassie
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 15:12:22

    I get addicted to certain authors too. I love Sophie Kinsella but I haven’t read any of the ones under her other name, you’ll have to let me know how they are!

  7. Mimi
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 16:46:08

    Enjoy the book signing, I really like Dorothea Benton Frank as well.

  8. amanda
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 23:30:45

    Plantation was my first DBF book!! LOVED it – you will enjoy! 🙂

  9. Jana (sidetrack'd)
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 21:01:23

    I’ve wondered about the Emily Giffin books; I might have to pick some of those up at the library. And thanks for the info about Kinsella; I had no idea she wrote under another name. I’ve heard good things about D.B. Frank but haven’t read any of those yet either. Sounds like I have plenty of reads to keep me busy for awhile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

