It’s That Time Again…

Lent.

A time of sacrifice.

A SERIOUS sacrifice for me is refraining from sweet foods.

In fact, I would love to sink my teeth into a Twix bar now.

*sigh*

Last year’s ‘Sweets Sacrifice’ was a success…

I lost 12 pounds by Easter.

But as it stands now, in the last 48 hours, I have had:

no sleep (thanks for that, Frog)

and no sweet, delicious food.

Sounds like a disaster for all parties involved.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 21:33:55

    You’re much stronger than I am but losing 12 lbs is a nice side effect. Aren’t you nursing? Nursing mothers should be exempt from lent.

  2. Midwest Mommy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:01:35

    Wow, you lost 12 pounds during lent last year? That’s awesome.
    I just got done eating a Coldstone Creamery chocolate chip ice cream sandwich. I think I gained 12 pounds doing so!!

  3. hyperactive lu
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:12:49

    Oh I agree…. A twix…. YUM! Anything chocolate, sweet and bad for you- I would want RIGHT NOW! HA! Yesterday wasn’t so bad, but today, once the boys were asleep for nap, I went on a hunt. What in the heck can I eat, if I can’t eat a dessert after lunch?!?!? HA!

  4. Mandy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:25:51

    Jen–yes I am nursing…wouldn’t that be nice! I am sure that fact would matter more on Fridays for fasting than for giving up sweets that should be limited anyway. 🙂

  5. Mandy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:27:19

    There’s a sign ad to how much junk I was eating before giving it all up! 🙂

  6. Jessica N
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:51:40

    I gave up the same thing! Ugh…torture! We can do this together:)

  7. Saltybaby
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 15:57:28

    This year, I have given up anything chocolate.

  8. EntertainingMom
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 06:40:46

    Sugar free fudgecicles? Is this allowed? I love these when I am trying to refrain from sugar!!

  9. Mandy
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 12:54:40

    That’s funny you suggest that…my mom said the same thing about some sugar free chocolate covered pretzels. 🙂 I think it would be safe to stay away from all of it, regardless. Thanks for the idea, though!

Leave a Reply

