Birth of a Blog, Version 2.0

Last year, I wrote the Birth of a Blog post to celebrate …life’s about a dream‘s one year  blogiversary.

Then all of a sudden, a whole year passed and today is the TWO year blogiverary!  My virtual scrapbook/baby book has evolved into quite a creative outlet.  I am able to update my family and friends in far off places (sniff, sniff) and right here in Downtown, Smalltown, Southeastern USA with pictures and anecdotes.  I have reconnected with my ΑΧΩ sisters from Clemson and discovered several readers are sisters, too!

Here’s an updated version of last year’s Birth of a Blog post.  It’ll give you the ins and outs and the who’s who here at …life’s about a dream.

__________________________

During Christmas 2007, BP was doing computer stuff with a coworker here at The Money Pit (more on that later) for several days in a row.  During a break, the coworker told me his wife had a blog.

A what??

HyperactiveLu was the first blog I ever read.   Through hers, I started reading others.  Then, one Saturday morning, BP came to me and said, “I set a blog up for you.  It should be much easier than the website we have.”

Whah-lah.

A blog was born.

The title …life’s about a dream came from Frick.  He was actually singing the song, “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and instead of singing, “life is but a dream” he sang, “life’s about a dream”.  We thought that was pretty profound, especially coming from a three year old (at the time).  And, it is what it is.  Our life is a dream.  BP had his sister make it into a sticker above our back door.

He calls it our mantra.

I call it cute.


BP’s name is derived from his initials.  It’s also short for Big Papa, taken from the song Big Poppa by Biggie Smalls. This name is actually what our friends began calling him after I became pregnant with our second child when Frick was just 6 months old.  What a stud.

Frick and Frack are nicknames for our older boys.  I used to teach part time in the public schools, job sharing a classroom with another girl.  She and I would joke around, calling ourselves Frick and Frack.  I thought it was clever and started calling the boys Frick and Frack around the house.   It worked well for the blog since I didn’t want our names “out there” in cyberspace.  Sometimes we refer to them as Chaos and Havoc (because they prefer wrestling as an after school activity) or The Farmers (because they are up with the sun each morning).  Uncle B tried to get me to change their blog names to Fred and Barney.  Click HERE for that reasoning.  Alas, Frick and Frack remain.

Frog is the nickname for our newest little guy, born in November, 2009.  After asking the blogosphere for ideas for a nickname, there was quite the debate as to what his nickname would be.  Frog was chosen because some of the other nicknames had  interesting connotations.   Sometimes I refer to him as The Newborn, but obviously that won’t last forever.

Some of our posts will refer to a place called The Money Pit. That’s our 109 year old house.  We started a major renovation process here in May 2008.  In true renovation fashion, our budget tripled as they began to chip away at our house.  The Fix It Guys kept uncovering all kinds of damage.  And our bill kept growing.  Hence, The Money Pit.  Like the movie.  Only better.  Then, BP started finishing the inside of the house while I was in Pittsburgh visiting Uncle B, Aunt D and Steeler Training Camp. It was my very own HGTV show!

Dreamers refers to you, my loyal readers of …life’s about a dream.   As I said above, this is a virtual scrapbook for my children and our memories.  But when I see that others are reading and commenting here on the blog, on Facebook, or through emails, I know my words are not just for us.  And that’s flattering.  Thank you for reading.  And commenting.

SO….WHAT’S YOUR BLOG’S STORY??

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EntertainingMom
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 07:21:01

    happy blogaversary! Mine started off as a means of showing pictures of the kids to my family and friends… boy has it taken a turn! And I don’t think my family has seen it in ages! LOL

  2. hyperactive lu
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 08:23:20

    Happy Blog-a-versary!!!! 🙂

  3. Angela
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 10:24:23

    Happy blog-a-versary! I started mine as a way to stay busy at work. Now I like that I’m already sort of in the habit of keeping it up since I have something (someone, really) so fun to blog about now. I guess it’s going to be Dallas’s unofficial baby book, too.

  4. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 13:47:18

    Happy Blogaversary! I started my blog as a way to keep my parents up to date but it has since evolved into more…my documentary on my family.

  5. Jennifer V
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 20:32:55

    Love to keep up with my fellas through your blog!!

  6. Pooba
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 19:01:48

    Wow two years is quite the accomplishment!

  7. Sara-Beth
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 21:11:13

    Happy Blogaversary! I got started because of you and Dana- you made it look like the greatest way of keeping everyone up to date on daily life! And, the baby book is too hard to keep up with these days!

  8. Jaina
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 13:57:00

    As long as you don’t come home to find him falling through a hole in the ceiling held up only by a giant carpet 😉

    Congrats and happy blogaversary!

Leave a Reply

