Here’s How it Went

Wednesday evening, November 4, I was admitted to the hospital to be induced.

BP and my mom stayed and visited for a while.  I sent them home so I could rest and BP could care for the boys.  Rather unexpectedly, my plans of reading and sleeping were blown out of the water.

Contractions came on quickly and full blown labor began through the night.  I feel silly admitting to this, after all, I was there to be induced into labor.  And it was my third child.   I just wasn’t expecting labor that quickly.

Stupid me.

The bed was horrible to sit in while breathing through contractions, so I asked for a birthing ball.  There I sat and watched reruns of The Cosby Show while weathering contractions.   That, my friends, was the only perk of labor (besides the actual baby.)

By 5:00am, contractions were 2 minutes apart and I was starting to panic because BP was not coming until 9:00, after he dropped the boys off at school.

Epidural was administered, I relaxed a little, and all was well.

Things went from fast to faster.

My knight in shining armor and my mom arrived around 9:15am and by 9:50, I was pushing.

Frog was born at 10:13am.

He was promptly placed on my chest so I could see the one who gave me all that heartburn for so many months.  Seems as if the old wives tale holds true again.

And then Frog christened me with pee.

Thanks, Frog.  It’s nice to meet you, too.

🙂

**I forgot to add earlier that after all we went through to get the initial RhoGam shot for this pregnancy, I DID have to get another one when Frog was born. ERRRR**

IMG_1453

Frick and Frack meeting Frog for the first time

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anti-Supermom
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 11:25:38

    That *was* fast. So happy for you that it went so smooth and that Baby Frog is finally with his family.

    Forgive him about the pee 😉

  2. Cassie
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 11:29:49

    That is such a sweet picture of the boys! I’m cracking up that Frog peed on your first thing…what a boy thing to do! haha

  3. EntertainingMom
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 11:42:57

    such a sweet story, pee and all 😉

  4. hyperactivelu
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 12:45:15

    Love it!!!

    I was SHOCKED you went into active labor so quickly! I was expecting Frog to show up later the next afternoon- not that morning!! HA! You are quite efficient! 😉 BTW, I also had to get another Rhogam shot! 😦 Boo! At least its not AS expensive the second time!!!

    Love the pic! I’m sure they are fantastic older brothers! Can’t wait to get our clans together- 6 boys! 🙂

  5. Carissa
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 16:37:59

    Bless your heart…you went through all that by yourself? You are one strong woman! Congrats! He is a little angel.

  6. Mandy
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:17:25

    It really wasn’t bad by myself…I had an incredible nurse who was extremely helpful throughout the process. I was adamant about BP being home with the boys so they could have as much of the same routine as possible. BP would have dropped everything and ran if I would have called. 🙂

  7. Mandy
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:18:27

    Oh… and thanks everyone for your sweet comments on this post and the last. 🙂 He is a sweet little baby and we are all adjusting to our family of 5. I love saying that. 🙂

  8. d
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:18:29

    Well done! You need to update your blog description…no longer holds true that “BP and I have two sons…”

  9. Mandy
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 17:19:34

    Why, yes I do!! I forgot to update that part. Thanks, D. 🙂

  10. virtualquilter
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 19:25:58

    Conratulations, and welcome to the world, Frog!
    Judy B

  11. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 18:54:44

    That is the sweetest picture. I remember labor with #3 going fast too. Frog sounds like he’ll fit right in with his big brothers – I think it’s a given that you get peed on at least once with baby boys.

  12. Sara-Beth
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 21:30:40

    Nothing says I love you and trust you like pee. 🙂 Sounds like he’ll fit in nicely with the Farmers!

    He is too cute for words!

  13. saltybaby
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 10:23:48

    Ya’ll have a lovely Family : )

Leave a Reply

