Retro…Again

I busted out the record player again at school this week.

The children were stunned.  AGAIN.

“What’s that Mrs. (insert my last name HERE)?”

“A what?!?”

This post from last year sums it all up….

______________________________

October 8, 2008

What do you say when your four year old students ask you what this is:

And then tell you this:

is the biggest CD/DVD they have EVER seen.


Do you:

A.  Laugh and tell them all about how you used a “record player” to play your Strawberry Shortcake record back in the day?

B.  Tell them they need to get with it…this is new technology?

C.  Consider yourself old and be done with it?

Yes, my friends, I TOTALLY busted out the record player and played “9-1-1″ for the kids from the Community Helpers album the school had.

Now, who had more fun?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. saltybaby
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 23:06:23

    I’m Feelin’ you. The other night we were down stairs in the basement/pool hall. We have and old record player down there that still works, and yes I still have some “albums” from my youth…..We broke out the 1984 album by Van Halen and played it. And…….Michael jackson’s Thriller album… Oh how I remember the good ol’ days! : )

  2. Jaina
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 19:29:37

    Heh, love it! I found an olllllld school floppy (you know, the ones that were actually floppy) when I was student teaching…all but one of my students had NO idea. No idea. I used to play Oregon trail on those things. Dang.

Leave a Reply

