Open House 2009

As a teacher, I always have mixed emotions about Open House.

There’s excitement for the new year…

fear of the unexpected…

and the feeling of being overwhelmed by the responsibility of molding young minds.

I’ll be “looping” for the first time ever–teaching most of the students who were in my 3K class last year in 4K this year.  There’s something to be said for knowing your students’ strengths and weaknesses before the year even starts.

But there is also a bittersweet feeling this year.  My sweet babies, who not so long ago had adorable rolls on their chunky legs,

are now both enrolled in the school where I teach, 5 days a week.

*sigh*

101_1399

Frack, 3K

101_1400_2

Frick, 4K

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EntertainingMom
    Aug 29, 2009 @ 16:37:30

    Awwww! Adorable even without their rolls and chunky legs!

  2. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Aug 29, 2009 @ 20:24:22

    They are too cute and look ready to tackle the school year. We still have another week of summer.

  3. Amy
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 02:58:29

    They are adorable! I can’t believe how much they are growing. Looking forward to seeing them (and a very pregnant you) in October!

  4. Sharon
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 11:38:16

    Aw! It’s so bittersweet, isn’t it? I’m still weepy that my 5yo is in full time kdg now. And I admit, since he is back to school and in full swing, I’ve thought & wondered what it’d be like if I went back to teaching, and had the option for my kiddos to be in the same school. I think it’s be the only way.

    Here is to a great year! Good Luck, 🙂

  5. hyperactive lu
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 17:00:28

    Those pics are so sweet! Good luck on Monday! And YEAH for schedule!!!

  6. Saltybaby
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 22:30:27

    They both look like they are eager and ready for the school year to begin.

  7. Midwest Mommy
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 22:48:42

    Oh man they grow up fast. I think it is really starting to hit me as BG starts preschool next week. Preschool in a blink of an eye it will be high school next, *sigh*

  8. MK
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 19:54:29

    They are SO big now!!! Where has the time gone?
    They are still the cutest boys I’ve ever seen!

  9. Jaina
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 15:24:48

    What adorable pictures. I hope your year goes well. I loved it when my teachers looped with us in 2nd to 3rd grade, it was awesome 🙂

  10. Cherilyn Rice
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 10:38:08

    Will you have Frick in your classroom this year??? That would be a challenge for me! It’s all I can do to handle Abby in my Sunday school class!

  11. Mandy
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 14:29:02

    Oh no…I’m not cut out to teach my own children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

