She’s Gonna BLOW!!!

  • 7:30am Dropped boys off at my parents’ house
  • 8:00am Arrived at the lab for my glucose tolerance test
  • 8:10am Round One–blood drawn
  • 8:15am Drank nasty lemon/lime syrup  ICK
  • 8:20am Sat in the waiting room to begin the hour long “how high will your blood sugar rise” time period.
  • 9:20am Round Two–blood drawn
  • 9:30am Given the go ahead to actually eat something for the first time since   10:30pm the night before.  I was ready to EAT.
  • 9:35am Started the drive to the hospital for my RhoGam Shot (I am Rh-, therefore require this shot at 28 weeks and again after giving birth if the baby has a positive blood type in order to prevent future miscarriages.)
  • 9:55am Sign in at the hospital and WAIT
  • 10:30am Round Three–blood drawn

***I interrupt this post to RANT***

Why on Earth do I have to have my blood drawn AGAIN to see if I still have a negative blood type?!?  I have 2 children, had the RhoGam shot 3 times (now 4) and continue to have a negative blood type.  I get the whole liability crap, really, I do.  But I still have to pay for that stupid test that tells me something I ALREADY KNEW.    Whew.  I feel a little better now.

  • 10:35am Told I had to wait an hour to get the results of my blood test and RhoGam  shot if I was indeed a negative blood type.  DUH  Then I found myself RANTING on phone to BP and then Jennifer.  Thanks to Jennifer, my ultrasound technician and familiar with medical CRAP friend, who lovingly and calmly tried to explain the reason why I needed my blood tested, as I was spitting out all kinds of four letter words.  Not my best moment.

Oh…did I mention I had to go back to my parents’ house to get the kids because my parents had appointments to get to and couldn’t wait another hour?

  • 11:00am Arrive at my parents house to collect the kids and go BACK to the hospital.
  • 11:25am The syringe in a box is given to me, but they couldn’t administer it to me there…I had to go down the hall, around the corner, through a bazillion hallways, etc. to get the shot.
  • 11:35am Finally where I am supposed to be with 2 antsy kids.  I am ushered to a room where I sit and say, “Stop that.”  “NO.”  “Because I said so”.  “I SAID NO”  a least a bazillion times.
  • 12:00pm Nurse comes in to get my vitals, temperature, and ask me a bazillion questions about my health including my current weight…not a good question to ask me at this moment in time.
  • 12:15pm Administered the shot (FINALLY) and crap.  It REALLY hurt.
  • 12:15 and 30 seconds Really tried to put a brave face on, after all, this was given to me in front of my children in my hip and it STUNG.
  • 12:17pm OUTTA THERE
  • 12:35pm Stuck at the railroad tracks because a train decided it had somewhere to be, therefore preventing me from getting the two antsy boys home for their naps.
  • 1:00pm Finally HOME.

On top of that,

Frack thought it would be swell to skip his nap today.

WILL SOMEONE PLEASE HAVE A DRINK FOR ME?!?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MK
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:26:40

    I think you need a HUG!!!…

  2. Margaret
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:38:44

    YUCK!!! Not a fun day!!! I hate the way they always have to draw blood to find out your blood type when they ALREADY know your blood type! I had to have blood drawn the morning of my c-section just to make sure for the tenth time that I’m RH neg and needed another Rhogham shot. So glad all that is over!! I think you need a small glass of wine–I had plenty during my pregnancies! 🙂

  3. hyperctivelu
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:43:00

    Gosh! Golly girl!!! You HAD A DAY!!! Makes you wanna cry and drink or cry in your drink! Sorry you had a rotten morning- no wait… a rotten 1/2 of the day! UCK!

  4. Jaime @ A Place Out West
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:17:28

    Hang in there, my friend. I will be more than happy to drink a nice, big glass of wine for you. I had fun with RhoGam shots, too, and after your first pregnancy, I think all of these assorted doctor’s appointments lose their luster, what with the extra children you have to tote along.

  5. jen@ourdailybigtop
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:52:02

    Yeah. I will have a drink or 2 for you on top of the ones I had for my yesterday. I feel ya. Put your feet up and order take-out.

  6. angie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 18:29:09

    When I was in the hospital (for 10 weeks) with my twins they had to do blood typing every 4 days. You know. In case my blood changed type. Like yours. 🙂

  7. EntertainingMom
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:12:26

    Oh Mandy… I am soooo sorry. I remember days like that… btw, my OBs said it was OK on occasion to have a half a glass of wine every now and again after the first trimester. Red wine even helps keep uterus calm to prevent contracting… just an fyi if you really wanted a little tiny bit…

    But yes, I am having a cab right now, just for you!

  8. anti-supermom
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:49:36

    I’ve had gestational diabetes twice now – and I’m so with you on the testing. 3 hours wasted, because yes, I probably have it. I’d rather have that 3 hours back and just treat my pregnancy like I did have it.

    Oh Mandy, you don’t know how much I exactly feel the way your do.

    I’ll have a drink for you, probably only Diet Coke though 🙂

  9. Dana Ellis
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 21:21:45

    Drinking away! I need it just from reading that! Hope today is much less stressful. We could totally go for ice cream ;). That’s pretty safe.

  10. Christie
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 13:16:58

    I have had the Rhogam shot a bazillion times now — usually three a pregnancy because I have had spotting, etc. So, I feel your pain. Someone also told me that they make the shot with your own blood, so maybe that is why they had to draw more blood — then they can have one for you after delivery?

  11. Blond Duck
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 13:23:20

    You need pie.

  12. Jennifer
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 20:38:07

    Girl, A least you made one funny story!! I know is sucked for you, but a least God gave you the talent of story telling. My side is still hurting!! You see I can picture you driving ALL over creation and your faces while doing it. Glad I could be your sounding board!! Anytime!!

  13. Saltybaby
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 01:04:30

    I’m sorry….Know that I am hugging you right now.

Leave a Reply

