While We Were Out

The boys and I arrived home Thursday night, sick and exhausted (more on that later).

Boy did we perk up when we saw what BP did while we were gone!!

Our to-do list of renovations INSIDE the house has been growing since Baby #3 is on the way.

I knew he was going to paint.

I knew he had some other things on his list he wanted to accomplish while we were gone.  It’s just easier to get things done when a nagging, pregnant wife and her 2 wild offspring aren’t around.

But I was amazed.  Simply amazed.

While we were out, he:

101_1380

updated and painted my pantry with my closet friend.

How ’bout the Bud Light box?  Are we the only people who go to liquor stores for their boxes when moving?

While we were out, he:

101_1381

101_1382

enhanced the nursery by painting the walls blue around the mural he created when Frick was born.

While we were out, he:

mail-6

totally finished our bedroom by painting it the same blue as the nursery.  He picked out a new comforter at a bargain price with the help of his sister and mom.  The furniture was moved around for a new look and a flat screen TV was placed above the mantel (that TV was a bargain price as well).

While we were out, he:

101_1377


mail-1

painted the breakfast room and kitchen the green I picked out and put up wainscoting around the walls.

The green looks different at night (the first picture) than it does during the day (the second picture).

To say I am thrilled with the changes is an understatement.  To say that my husband is talented is not doing him justice.

I.AM.THE.LUCKIEST.GIRL.AROUND.

I thank God for this man every day.

Oh…

While we were out, he:

101_1379

had his sister, a graphic artist, design this for the wall above the back door in the breakfast room.  When we walk out that door, we will be reminded that our life is IN FACT a dream.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MK
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 10:48:02

    AMAZING!!!

  2. Jaime @ A Place Out West
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 12:06:37

    I love it all! And how fun that you came home and it was all just there and finished.

  3. hyperactive lu
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 12:07:09

    Great job BP!

  4. Cassie
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 12:29:18

    Oh that is awesome! I love the color of the nursery and bedroom, and I love the Life’s about a dream part too! He did a great job.

  5. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 13:51:49

    Your husband rocks! Can’t believe he did all that and coordinating bedding. My favorite part is your quote!

  6. Mimi
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 14:31:02

    Oh my goodness, that’s beautiful! I especially love the blue in the bedroom.

  7. Andrea
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 15:10:50

    I love it Mandy. It looks absolutely beautiful and I love the decal. Is it a decal or paint? =)

  8. Mandy
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 15:18:06

    It’s a sticker decal. 🙂

  9. Grand Pooba
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 18:56:34

    No way! Holy crap he’s been busy! What a stud!

    Major points!

  10. Hip Mom's Guide
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 20:16:15

    Whoa! I cannot believe he got all of that stuff done. And that he can DO all of it. Your life is about a dream. 🙂 How fun for all of you.

    Now, back to my very unproductive day…

  11. Hip Mom's Guide
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 20:16:56

    PS I loooove that blue you chose. Totally diggin’ it.

  12. Sara-Beth
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 20:40:42

    Awesome! I love your colors. The bedroom looks terrific and that green is fantastic!!

  13. Amanda
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 21:22:27

    LOVE IT!! He’s so great!!
    And what is it with green walls looking different from day to night?? Our walls are a green color and they do the same thing!! Strange!

  14. Jessica N.
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 21:40:12

    What a great man! He did an awesome job…I especially like the decal that Brandy did. My kitchen is green as well…it looks so different between day and night!

  15. Saltybaby
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 22:47:57

    Love it, love it, love it! The green looks close to what is in our bedroom (from what I can tell from the pics) Our kitchen was light blue, but now it’s sage or mossy green.

  16. Heather
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 19:12:26

    Wow! Tell BP I am VERY impressed! He did an awesome job and must not have slept a wink while you guys were gone. Now he needs a vacation!! it looks awesome!

  17. Jennifer
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 21:36:14

    Scott said that enjoyed helping BP paint your bedroom and kitchenette. He came home with the colors on his hands and legs so that I could see the colors!!

  18. Amy
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 12:18:33

    Love it all. Do you think that BP can hold seminars to inspire and inform other husbands? He did a great job!

  19. jenny
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 14:12:29

    Seriously? Wow!

    You are blessed to have such a wonderful husband…and lovely home!

  20. Jaina
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 13:44:31

    Wow, I’m impressed! What a fantastic husband you have!

Leave a Reply

