What’s On My Bookshelf

I have read some trashy romance beach reads this summer, but none were really worthy of posting.  However, I finished re-reading this book:


4126Y1M1MFL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

to get ready for


51rh3v5moSL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

(I am FIRST on the waiting list at the library!)

If you haven’t ever read any of Dorothea Benton Frank’s books, what are you waiting for?!?  She writes about Lowcountry South Carolina and is absolutely hilarious!!  If you are looking for the typical “beach read”, she’s your lady.

I read this one of hers this summer as well:

410wB18rY+L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

Christmas in July, anyone?

_______________________________________

I am currently reading:


51brQ6iPXTL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

It’s really cute.  If you like the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella, you will like this!  Thanks to Jaime, a friend from high school, for this referral!

___________________________________________

I have these books in my possession from the library:

413q37KJrVL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA240_SH20_OU01_

41FY4TBA17L._SL500_AA240_

(Jaime suggested this one, too!)

_________________________________________

CLICK HERE for a list of Amazon’s Best Beach Reads if you are interested.  I have to add these to my list!

What are you reading this summer?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 10:59:45

    I liked the Shopaholic series! 🙂 I went to the beach with a “Trashy” book and it stunk! Didn’t even finish it! I was waiting on no. 2 in the Twilight series! 🙂

  2. Jaime
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 11:06:17

    Thanks for the shout-out, Mandy! Now I need to hurry up and finish Lipstick Jungle; you have me wanting to re-read Sullivan’s Island and start on the new one, too.

  3. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 14:00:31

    Thanks for this link. We’re headed to the beach soon and I need some good reads.

  4. Mimi
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 17:15:47

    I like Dorthea Benton Frank a lot – and often her characters are Catholic.

  5. Saltybaby
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 23:00:19

    I wish I had more time to read, It’s something that I enjoy. I have’nt had time for any books lately, but I have read the latest issues of: National Geographic Magazine, Southern Living and Coastal Living in print…I read articles from Astronomy Magazine on-line.

  6. jenny
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 00:30:27

    Ooohh, I’ll have to add those to my list!

    I just started Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin (also by your recommendation!) and I’m loving it! Thanks!

  7. Jaina
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 00:46:10

    Is that a new Grisham novel? I don’t recognize the title. I need to pick up a few books here, I have so many on my list to read and just haven’t made the time.

  8. Jessica Hucko Norrell
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 21:34:01

    I went to Barnes and Noble today because I wanted to get Sullivan’s Island, but they were out of stock. I bought Isle of Palms instead! Going to Edisto next week and I can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the recommendations!

  9. Mandy
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 08:42:12

    I just finished the book last night (stayed up until waaayyyy past my bedtime!) Could not put it down.

    Jaina–I am not sure if Grisham’s novel is new or not. It popped up on my recommended reading list (you know…”if you like ____, you may like ____.”) I get the feeling it is not like any of his others.

    Jessica–you will love all of her books. She is an amazing author. In Return to Sullivan’s Island, many of her characters from her previous books appear. It was so cool to recognize them and made me feel like I was a citizen of that community! Go to the library and get on the waiting list for her books or order them online. You could probably get them pretty cheap it they are slightly used.

  10. Sara-Beth
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 21:15:49

    Just finished Return to Sullivan’s… It was good, I like the first one better.

    I am on the hunt for something good to read at the beach next week- got a trip to the bookstore planned with your list. One of my friends suggested the new Mary Alice Monroe.

  11. Missy @ Bees and Booboos
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 16:19:47

    I just read Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed and I loved it! I have another one of her’s from the library and I can’t wait to start it!

  12. Amanda
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 19:54:29

    I have read Dorethea Benton Frank and LOVE her!!! My mom and I actually are switching out books now. I have Shem Creek sitting on my desk to read and I just finished up Pawleys’ Island. I have to say that I have had a hard time getting into Sullivan’s Island though..I have tried twice now to read it.
    But I do love her!!! Oh and James Patterson!!!

  13. Jen
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 21:45:59

    Another fun read for summer is Flirting With Forty by Jane Porter.

    Thanks for all the recommendations!! I am going to add them to my to-be read list!

Leave a Reply

