Floor Fiasco

Yesterday was the first day I ever cleaned my newly refinished hardwood floors.  I used a product made specifically for hardwood floors that will remain nameless (because their customer service department is sending me free stuff when I screamed and cried on the phone).

I followed the directions on the back of the bottle perfectly (which is remarkable in and of itself…don’t you know teachers, who demand this life skill, are the worst at following directions???)

After I waited 15 minutes for the floor to dry, my beautiful, shiny, dark-stained floors looked streaked, dull, spotted, and ruined.  I swear I thought I took the top layer of poly off.

Enter FREAK OUT MODE.

I tried mopping again with just water.  Nothing.

I tried a mixture of vinegar and water over the stains.  Nothing.

I tried calling my mom for support.  It helped a little (especially when she said to just walk away.)

I called the customer service department and literally screamed and cried about how I just ruined my NEWLY REFINISHED HARDWOOD FLOORS with their product and what were they going to do about it?!

Ok, I didn’t scream.  But I was curt.  And I think I did cry.

1/2 cup of ammonia and a gallon of warm water and some elbow grease, she said.

Is it just me or do you think she gets these calls a lot?

Now I will be getting a package of free stuff that I WILL.NOT.USE.

I think I am going back to my vinegar and water solution from here on out.

Do you have hardwoods?

What do you use to clean them that won’t streak or create spots?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 08:36:46

    Oy! Sometimes it’s the basic stuff that works the best. We use bona – have only seen it at Bed Bath & Beyond but with the 20% coupon. It’s a deal.

  2. Heather
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 09:41:38

    We use Shaw Hard Surfaces Flooring Cleaner (specifically for hardwood and tile). It works great and cleans well! It comes in a spray bottle. I bought the pack with the bottle, mop (similar to Swiffer but much better!), and two mop covers that are washable (one for dusting/cleaning up crumbs and the other for wet mopping). I got it at the flooring shop who did our floors.

  3. Pooba
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 09:44:55

    Oh what a nightmare! Our whole upsairs area and stairs are hardwood floor and I am still looking for a good cleaner! The guy that put our floors in told us to only use water to clean them, anything else strips the wood down and it loses it’s shine.

    But I just can’t clean with just water! I have animals, I need to sanatize my floors ya know? So I have not followed his instruction and we have been using Orange Glo.

    (I hope that’s not what you used!)

  4. EntertainingMom
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 09:48:54

    Oh my gosh… I am so sorry… as I mentioned on FB yesterday I use vinegar and water. D uses Murphy’s oil from time to time. Yes, he mops on occasion… once a year, perhaps, but it is better than nothing!

  5. MK
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 11:01:50

    I know I said I always used vinegar and water, but since we had our floors redone in August, all I have used is my Swiffer Vac, and I ABSOLUTELY love it!!! But, I don’t have 2 lively little boys running everywhere and possibly spilling things everywhere like little children do, so, I don’t really have to clean it, does that make since? I also just bought a steamer and it really did great in the kitchen and bathroom, so I might try it on my hardwoods too!
    Hope this helps!

  6. hyperactive lu
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 11:25:10

    Oh no! I would have been screaming and crying too and HOPING that it was all fixed before hubbie came home!!! Hee hee!

    Hope you got your beautiful new floors back!

  7. Susan
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 16:31:06

    Oh my! I know that I would have been in tears! I hope you find something that works for you! I use the swiffer wet jet with the hardwoods cleaning solution.

  8. Midwest Mommy
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 00:07:42

    I have a guess which product this was! Ugh! That is annoying!

  9. Jaina
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 11:52:19

    That’s horrible! I hope the ammonia and water made it better. They should have given you a refund or something…that is so not cool.

  10. anti-supermom
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 22:27:43

    Like another commenter, I use (when I actually clean the floors) Shaw Hardwood floor cleaner – I buy it at Menards.

    Save Big Money.

    Good luck, I’d be completely frustrated too.

  11. margaret
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 22:28:53

    i’m guessing you used orange glo? had the same problem with that crap and will never use it again!! i use vinegar and water usually and occasionally bona. good luck!!

  12. Mrs4444
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 00:23:50

    We use Zep Hardwood Floor Cleaner (I think I got it from Home Depot). It’s beautiful! I think I would have had a heart attack. I’m SO glad you recovered~

Leave a Reply

