What’s the Word?

Sometimes I think about how hard it was bringing home a newborn Frack when I still had a 15 month old Frick at home.  

I was so overwhelmed that first year.  

It was tough.  

VERY tough.

 

theboys2

 

We eventually nailed down a routine and life was easier.  

Now I can’t imagine the boys being more than 15 months apart.  They play together, sleep together, eat together, and of course fight together. 

 

But I wonder what it’s going to be like bringing home a new baby into our lively household.

 

Moms of many, (or anyone else who wants to chime in)

 which is harder…

 

going from one  kid to two kids?

or 

two kids to three kids?

 

images1

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pooba
    May 07, 2009 @ 14:37:30

    Hmm, I’m not a mom, but I’ve got a lot of friends who are moms! Seems to me it’s going from 2 to 3 kids that people have the hardest time with. Your now outnumbered ya know!

  2. Cassie
    May 07, 2009 @ 15:31:56

    I have no idea obviously, but it’s definitely something I worry about when trying to plan our next little one!

  3. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    May 07, 2009 @ 16:22:49

    Honestly? It was harder to go from 2 to 3 for me. It took me about 3 months before I ventured out with all 3 kids by myself. I guess it didn’t help that the 2 older kids gave up their naps right before #3 was born. I hope your boys are still napping.

  4. Sharon
    May 07, 2009 @ 17:29:54

    While I only have 2 so far, I know my mother said after 3 it was not too different. Not sure if 2-3 was harder than 1-2, but she had 8 and did it!

    I think you’ll be fine. Especially with your little guys being in preschool.

    For me, it was much harder going from 0 to 1 than 1 to 2. It didn’t help that my first was colicky, but still, going from 1 to 2 felt so much better and natural.

    My tip would be to invest in some good baby carriers!

  5. Jaina
    May 07, 2009 @ 18:15:49

    I don’t know. My brothers are 11 and 15 years younger than me, so it was a completely different dynamic. I’m sure you’ll get it worked out 😉 You can do it!

  6. MK
    May 07, 2009 @ 18:32:57

    When I brought home the 3rd one, I had a 4 yr. old, a 2yr. old, and then the newborn…if you think about it, that’s really 3 babies, so I always thought it wasn’t any different…to me, bringing home the second was the worst, because you were only used to one, but with 3, you’re already used to more than one and it was a much easier adjustment, does that make sense?…I’ll help you, my baby won’t be here, it’ll be in Florence, and by the way, they moved her due date back, now it’s Nov. 10th!

  7. EntertainingMom
    May 07, 2009 @ 22:36:08

    Actually, it was hardest going from none to 1. It was terrible and terrifying and traumatic! I don’t ever want to go back to that place and time ever again! I had no problem going from 1 to 2. Rebecca was a good napper and a fabulous sister. (She was 2 when Christopher was born.) When Alexander was born I had 2 in school. Rebecca was 6 and Christopher was 4. What was hard for me was trying to give him some sort of schedule (food, nap) that would coincide with their schedules. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t. Inevitably his nap would get interrupted and he’d always need to eat at the wrong time. In some ways it’s easier now as I have two helpers (I mean, that’s why I had children, right? I needed little folk to do my dirty work!) and some times it is harder because the older two are off in one direction and have similar interests and he either gets dragged around or holds them back. It can get frustrating, but I am enjoying Alexander so much more than I enjoyed the other two as a) I know he is my last and b) since I have been through this all I am SO much more relaxed! Makes all the difference!

  8. Healthy Moms
    May 09, 2009 @ 18:37:32

    For me it was harder bringing that third baby home. Especially since my two little ones are only 18 mos apart. In August we will be bringing home baby number 4 so we’ll see if that will be an even bigger challenge. Congratulations on your new baby. Have a very Happy Mother’s Day!

  9. Cassie
    May 11, 2009 @ 16:52:01

    As a mom of 5 I get this question all the time. And the answer is: going from 0 to 1! That was the hardest! 🙂 But I would also say that it has a lot to do with baby temprament. Unless your new baby is super colicky (and I’m sure it won’t be) then I would say you’ll be fine. Going from 1 to 2 with them only 15 months apart was probably harder than this new addition will be. You’re a weathered pro now! 🙂

  10. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    May 12, 2009 @ 00:28:58

    For us, going from 1 to 2 was harder than 2 to 3. But, our second was a very difficult and colicky baby. (We had our first two at 24 months apart, and then the third came 39 months after the second one.)

  11. hyperactive lu
    May 13, 2009 @ 09:57:36

    I agree. I think you’ve seen the worst part. Sort of jealous, wish my youngest was as old as your youngest!!!! At least he’ll sit and watch tv for you!!! 1 to 2 was hard for me because we were adjusting to me staying at home, getting Bubbie back on a routine and normal schedule and then adding a very colicky baby…. ugh! Mama Mia! I’ve done again too soon!!!! I remember too much! Maybe our 2 to 3 will be the best yet!

  12. Sadiebug and her Mom
    May 16, 2009 @ 10:59:03

    We’re thinking about going from 1 to 2, and we are terrified that it might put us over the edge. I think 0 to 1 was incredibly hard, but that was because my employers were idiots. Sadie turned 2 in March, but I’m wondering if the age of the kids is a major factor of how insane it is.

Leave a Reply

