Overheard

dandelionseedhead

 

Frick: (while blowing a dandelion and making a wish)

 

I wish for many, many, MANY Lightning McQueen cars.

 

Because he only has 15 in his collection so far.  Duh.

 

When I was growing up, the kids in my neighborhood and I called a dandelion that looked like this a Santa Claus.  What did you call them?

 

 

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nini
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 19:23:45

    ….an allergic reaction!

  2. Jessica
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 19:39:08

    LMAO at an allergic reaction!

    Christopher calls them Wish Blowers! I love that name!

  3. Jaina
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 19:57:52

    Lightening McQueen is awesome 🙂

  4. hyperactive lu
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 20:03:15

    not sure what we called them…i know mom called them weed makers and she would say no no no! don’t!

    only 15 cars?! mandy, what kind of mother are you for only letting him have 15?! geesh! 😉

  5. Michelle
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 21:34:10

    We just called them dandelions. Did you ever peel the stems in fours and then drop them in water??

  6. Donnetta
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 22:48:38

    We called them Dandies. 🙂 Oh the memories this brings back!

  7. Pooba
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 15:30:07

    A Santa Claus? Never heard of that! Um, I think we just called them dandelions…boring.

  8. nini
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 15:41:38

    Thanks, Jessica!
    My friends and I were just talking about this today. Eulogies usually go somewhat like: “She was a great mother, volunteer, fund-raising giant, board member and soup kitchen director.” Mine will be limited to one statement: “She was good for a laugh!” Oh well, beats some of the nasty stiff (pardon the typo/pun) stuff they could put on the table!

  9. nini
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 15:46:38

    hey, Janie, how do I send my response to Jessica?
    I clicked on her name and got to her site but could not find anywhere to leave a message.

  10. Jessica
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 18:06:34

    Nini… are you an allergic stiff? LOL

    You can leave messages for me on my blog…

    I’d rather be thought of as funny than any of the other boring stuff like good mom, loving wife… that’s soooo boring! 😉

  11. nini
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 19:57:34

    Jessica: Yes I am and I have pin pricks to prove it! You’re right. No one has EVER called me boring, not even my husband, who has called me just about every….but that’s another story. I consider ‘not boring’ a good thing. Keep the praises coming; they fill my half-empty/half- full cup, depending on which day it is. And now you know the rest of the story; but not all of it……no one knows all of it and I like it that way. Thanks for stopping by Mandy’s place!

  12. Jen@OurDailyBigTop
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 21:39:02

    Frick and my little guy would get along so well. One can never have enough McQueens 🙂

  13. Missy
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 20:17:48

    My little guy keeps losing his Lightning McQueens. We are down to 2. It is very sad.

Leave a Reply

