Valentine’s Day

My parents have been married 40 years today…Valentine’s Day!

 

img_00021

February 14, 1969

Mom had blood poisoning in her leg after she fell down some stairs taking her wedding gown to be altered just days before they said ‘I do’.  

Dad lost his false teeth (he’s had them since he was 13 from a football accident) in the days leading up to the wedding, only to be replaced in the nick of time.

But they managed to get hitched anyway. 

And it has lasted 40 years.

Happy Anniversary Nini and Pops!

 

 

c2886cf9c7ba13bed5fffb7b3c8ea876

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 08:16:43

    Happy Anniversary to them! Happy Vale`ntine’s Day! As you can see I have little fingers helpin me

  2. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 09:24:27

    What a great anniversary day! They are a beautiful couple. Congrats on 40 years!

  3. Christie
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 11:18:07

    Happy Anniversary to your parents! My cousin is getting married today — I have to go figure out what I am going to wear!

  4. nininotes
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 11:59:14

    Thanks. But Janie, get your facts straight! It was not my wedding dress, it was my “going away” outfit. We went to Pittsburgh, as our honeymoon weekend in New York was put on hold due to my leg.
    You get your clumsiness from me.
    Also, Dad did not lose his teeth, that was PapPap!
    Daddy bit into a grilled cheese sandwich at noon the day of the wedding. His front teeth broke off.
    Hey, that plate lasted ten years; but what a day for an accident.
    Still remember the call from Grandma. “Aileen, Tom’s teeth broke off. He’s looking for a dentist. He is very upset, ran out of the house yelling he would not be married unless he got his teeth fixed.” There I was, my leg wrapped with an ace bandage, a wheelchair on hold in case I could not limp down the isle, and Tom running around Scottdale Pa. like a crazy person with no front teeth.
    Just like when you read the comments of the Mother of a serial killer. “He was perfectly normal. Nothing really stands out.” Oh, how we fail to see the signs. We see them, we just choose to ignore! And, sometimes it lasts forty years!
    Did you tell everyone what Dad and I are doing tonight for our anniversary?

  5. Sharon
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 12:35:47

    What a beautiful picture!!
    Congrats to them & Happy Anniversary! It’s always nice in this day & age to hear of big anniversaries. It proves that marriage CAN work. 🙂 My parents are going to celebrate 49 years this June. I think it’s amazing.

    Your parents look beautiful!

  6. Mandy
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 12:39:00

    LOL, Mom! I stand corrected. 🙂 I knew it was something to do with teeth and your clothing. I was close. Whatever.

    Why, for your 40th anniversary, you are selflessly babysitting our children so my husband and I can have a romantic night out and make it to 40 years, too!

  7. BP
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 12:54:58

    Nini said…”what Dad and I are doing tonight for our anniversary?”

    Nini, Dear it’s not that kind of a blog. We have to keep it clean for the younger readers. But have fun anyway.

  8. Mimi
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 14:25:00

    Happy, Happy Anniversary! Many Years!

  9. Tiffany
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 16:19:33

    Happy Anniversary to them! Beautiful picture.

  10. MK
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 19:02:48

    damn…

  11. Jessica
    Feb 15, 2009 @ 08:47:00

    Happy Anniversary!!!

  12. Jaina
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 13:12:27

    Happy Anniversary to your parents!

  13. jenny
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 13:46:26

    Wow, happy belated anniversary to your parents!

    (and I just loved reading their comments…how fun!)

Leave a Reply

