Chips Off the Old Block

Those are my boys.

Chips off the old block.

My mother and father swear Frack is exactly how I was in my younger years.

My behavior stunk.  I lived 85% of my life in my room from ages 3-5.

And, lately, so does Frack.

I haven’t posted this information yet–although it has been consuming my every thought and action.

I am working on him.  Molding him to be a better Frack.

And Frick can be quite the character as he is testing our boundaries (see THIS POST) as well.

Nini reminded me of a story from my childhood along these lines.

 

I was about 4 and having a tough time at the dinner table.

In other words, I was mouthing off and acting up.

My dad had enough of my sassy attitude.

He slammed his fist down on the table making the plates and silverware dance around.

He stated clearly through his clenched teeth…

“Dammit, Mandy!! I married one.  I am NOT gonna raise one!!!”

I started crying.

My brother looked like a deer stuck in headlights.

And my mom rolled on the floor laughing until she was crying.

 

*By the way, this is my 300th post. Yeehaw!*

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 14:23:20

    Ha! Feels like what I’m going through with Bubbie some days!!!

  2. Jessica
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 14:27:34

    LMAO!!!! That is too friggin’ hysterical!! I’m imagining the silverware dancing on your table… like in Beauty and the Beast!!

  3. Pooba
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 14:36:34

    LOL that is so funny! I’ve got to remember that line for when I have kids! So now do you get why moms always say-

    “Just wait until you have kids, then you’ll understand!”

  4. Heather
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 15:32:23

    Oh, that is too funny!!! We are raising a very sassy little boy too and our younger one is starting to join his brother!!! Jason says I am sassy too, so maybe it comes through the Mommies! 🙂 Good luck!!

  5. Lisalicious
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 16:12:56

    Congrats on your 300th post! I can barely get in one post a week!

    My husband just tells my girls that if they are not careful, their mommy’s “crazy” gene will kick in! I am sure they then are concerned about their “jeans”, but I always get a good laugh.

  6. amanda
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 16:31:26

    OMG – too much!!! I hear that same thing from Brian – poor Lauren – no poor Brian – he is in for it BIG time!!!!
    Avery is also spending more time MIA – his latest thing is just hanging out anywhere with a tv as long as the Wiggles are on repeat in the DVD….

  7. Blond Duck
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 17:08:58

    I don’t get it….married one what?

    Congrats on your 300th post!

    I moved! Come visit me at http://www.aduckinherpond.com.

  8. Sabrina
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 17:26:06

    LOL! Happy 300th post!!!

  9. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 18:44:48

    300 posts – you go girl! That is the funniest thing I’ve read all day. I guess what goes around, comes around? If that’s the case, I’m in for a world of hurt when my little girl hits the tween years. I hope to end the cycle.

  10. Jenners
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 21:07:48

    Wow! 300 posts! Congrats! I’ve not even hit 100 yet!

    And I heard that the best part of being a grandparent is seeing your children be put through the same torture you put your parents through.

  11. Michelle
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 01:13:09

    LOL….too funny and congrats on hitting post 300!

  12. Susan
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 16:52:44

    That’s too funny! Congrats on 300! WOW!

  13. Jaina
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 19:57:59

    Love that dinner time story. Classic. I believe the parental favorite word for such a situation is Karma. And to that I just stick out my tongue.

  14. Sara-Beth
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 20:17:30

    My parents used to say they were going to get me a t-shirt that said “I was born, I was grounded, I still am”

Leave a Reply

