Mass Appeal

Mass.

One goes to feed the soul, reflect on life and the many blessings given.  We thank God for all that He has given, especially the two little boys entrusted to us.

 

Last week, Frack had a difficult time in the nursery.  (I say difficult to be polite.  He was terrible.)

Given the fact we were MORTIFIED that our child acted the way he did at church of all places, we decided to try something new.

With a swift prayer and a deep breath,

Frack attended Mass with us.

Without food and drink (it’s church, not a restaurant).

Without toys (this isn’t the nursery).

Without crayons (it’s not art class either).

 

He was great.

He wanted to go out of the church.

And then he wanted to go back in to see Daddy and Frick.

He shouted while waving madly, “Hey Daddy!!!” when I had him in my arms on my way to receive the Eucharist.

When we approached the Eucharistic Minister, she blessed him.  He was surprised by this gesture.  He cocked his head to the side and said, “Yeah!” 

Finally, at the end of Mass, he begged me to sing, “Alligators All Around” by Carole King instead of “The Prayer of St. Francis”.

 

Seriously, though.

We were proud of our guys today during Mass.

This was quite a feat and one that will continue each Sunday.

I just hope the wiggles will wiggle out before they are 15 and 16.

 

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paisana
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:21:58

    Until we moved, our Sunday school was held at the same time as Mass, but we were always expected to behave and were never once given a toy. However, we also knew that if we goofed off once, we’d be sitting in a corner quietly for the length of the Mass, so… yeah. I spent a lot of Sundays with my nose in a corner.

  2. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 22:11:32

    It is hard for the little ones to sit still, even my almost 8 y.o. has trouble and he’s going to get his 1st Communion in May. You’d think he’d pay closer attention. Good for you and the boys.

  3. Jenners
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 22:34:04

    This was a really cute post! I’m sure he spread some joy during the service! : )

  4. hyperactive lu
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 23:14:34

    Good for you!

  5. Patrice
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 02:04:11

    lol too funny! Good for you & your boys for being strong & having a good day!

  6. Tiffany
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 08:40:07

    Kids and church can be so hard. Glad it worked out. I’ve always liked taking our kids into church with us.

  7. Angela
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 09:51:45

    Hahaha!! Kids in church are so funny. Hope he does as well every week 🙂

  8. anti-supermom
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 12:20:45

    I’m not daring enough for this, lucky for you that it turned out so well.

    Hopefully that same next week, right?!

  9. Mimi
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 14:09:13

    Eh, when they are 13 and 15 they have a new set of tricks (says she who reguarly attends Liturgy with her 12 and 17 year olds)

  10. Sharon
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 18:20:29

    I used to dread Mass with the kids because they seemed to be worse than all the other kids. lol
    Aidan has gotten so much better in Church, though.
    I’m the same as you-get it out now, at least before First Communion. 😉
    Btw, we found Aidan wiggled much less if he went for a walk before Mass.

  11. Cassie
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 18:28:36

    The more I expect of my kids, the better they seem to behave, even the little ones. Whenever I let them draw, or leave to play in the crying room (which has toys) they always act much worse. I’m not saying they are perfect, but I can handle a little dancing around and occasional whisper compared to the arguing and running around that happen when we give them an inch. Also, if it makes you feel better, when my son Henry was 3 he jumped out of his seat and ran around the church right during the Homily. No one could catch him. He circled around the entire church 3 times with people diving out of their seats trying to grab him. He was so disruptive that Father threw his hands up in the air and cut the Homily short because he’d lost his place. He was good humored about it later though. Nothing your children could ever do would be more embarassing then that! 🙂

  12. Mandy
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 18:42:11

    All right Cassie…you win. 🙂 Thanks for the support and tips guys!

  13. Pooba
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 19:45:21

    What a great feat! I’m amazed considering no food, no toys and no crayons!

  14. Renée aka Mekhismom
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 20:04:52

    Oh just sing the wiggle song before mass. That should help – a little yo gabba gabba will do the trick!

  15. jenny
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 10:50:08

    good for you! I 100% agree that church is no place for snacks, crayons or anything else.

  16. Christie
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 11:38:25

    We bring our kids into church during Communion each week, and this past weekend we had to take Gibson out when he started screaming because we wouldn’t let him pick his nose!

    Thanks for the potty training well wishes! It was a long, hard road for both of my girls, and I am sure it is going to be a long, hard road with Gibson, too. I am just shocked that he is showing an interest in it!

  17. Jaina
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 19:48:18

    I remember the days when my little brothers wouldn’t hold still at mass. Once in a while they were terrors. I’m glad your guys did pretty well in mass.

  18. Texan Mama
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 15:04:36

    Whoa, I could write a BOOK on kids in church. Hubs is a pastor, I have 4 kids, blah blah blah. I’ve seen just about all of it. And heard both sides of kids in church vs. kids in the nursery.

    Bottom line: We’ve all been a child at some point. And kids only learn to worship by actually, uh… WORSHIPPING. So, bring Frack to Mass. And, if he wants a snack (not a meal), do what you need to in order to keep sanity. I’m not talking, coloring on the pews, but at this point, he probably can’t even sit still through dinner, right? I can’t imagine him sitting for a whole hour in church.

    But, that’s me. In church, my kids always fidgeted while a little pitiful tear rolled down my cheek and I prayed that they would quit rolling around on the floor. I always looked at another family of our church, SO NICE, but I kinda hated them too because their kids were totally perfect in church from day one. Stood when it was time to stand, sat when we were to sit, never colored or talked or wiggled. Sweet kids. (jerks!)

    😛

Leave a Reply

