The Professional

Yep. 

That’s me.

I am THE Professional Juror.

I have been called eight times.

Four of those eight had me sitting in the box.

This includes yesterday.

My name was the third one called out of the hat.

And I was immediately presented to the court.  

And immediately approved.

 

When I returned for the case later that day, I was appointed as the foreman.   

Once the trial started, I was addressed as Madame Forelady.  Seriously.  

?!?

Fun stuff.

As much as I complain about getting picked for jury duty, there is something appealing to the process.

Maybe the sense of power…

…or the serenity of a few hours away from the looney bin

…or the fact that it is your civic duty.

 

Whatever the case may be, 

I had fun.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 19:39:21

    I’m glad you had fun. I think it would be really neat to sit on a jury, if I had time when they called.

  2. Jenners
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 20:37:52

    Oh I loved this post! I was picked to be juror once and I was so thrilled. It was a drug case and we convicted the guy. Of course, his lawyer even said he was guilty … the question was whether he was in a school zone at the time and what the punishment would be. I remember that we got to look at the little baggie with the crack cocaine in it (which I had never seen).

    My husband just got called … he was not pleased. I’m happy to be called again…as long it is only for one day. (There are limits to my civic duty.)

  3. entertainingmom
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 22:08:54

    ok sorry but does forelady foreplay?!!!

    I COULD NOT help myself on that one! Please forgve me?!!!

  4. Mimi
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 22:15:30

    Congratulations, Madame Forewoman

  5. Staci
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 08:02:22

    I have never been called for jury duty, its something I think I would enjoy doing! lol My husband ALWAYS tries to get out of it… Stopping by from SITS!

  6. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 00:56:43

    That must have been interesting! I can’t imagine being able to find the time; thanks for your sacrifice.

  7. Missy
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:33:15

    I have been summoned three times but have never been called to a trial. My husband has never even been summoned. I don’t think that is fair.

  8. anti-supermom
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 12:18:21

    I’m not going to say that it sounds like fun, because that would put some sort of curse on me,

    but I’m glad that you are having fun being professional.

    Seriously, 8 times!

Leave a Reply

