Friday Fragments

 

Friday Fragments?

 

A few months ago, I entertained the children with a record player.

This week, I pulled out the cassette player.

It’s been a long time since I used one of those dinosaurs.

Rewinding the tape is quite a lengthy process.

We waited.

And waited.

And waited.

*crickets chirping*

And then a little boy student piped up and said,

“Is it EVER going to play, Mrs. Teacher?

These kids have never seen a cassette tape before.  They were the same ones who thought the record was a giant CD.  That’s what I am there for…to educate them on the classics.

_________________________________________

 

My fellow early childhood teachers will appreciate this:

 

Lately I have been assigning the boys ‘centers’ in which to play. This is what happens when you bring your work home.

 

Actually, it is the only thing maintaining my sanity these days.

__________________________________________

 

Click this to see about our recent Honeymoon Suite Nightmare.

 

_________________________________________

 

Click here to see about my aging process.

 

_________________________________________

 

For more Friday Fragments, go visit Mrs.4444.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 08:26:33

    I went to a school open house yesterday and they were doing centers. I loved the idea…. Have a great weekend!

  2. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 13:05:46

    Sorry you’re getting old… 🙂

    I used my classroom techniques at home all the time when the kids were little; especially the “Clean-up” song! 🙂

  3. Mrs. Cox
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 13:50:18

    Heh, I’d rather have vinyl over cassettes any day! At least now they can say they’ve experienced both.

  4. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 15:38:53

    LOL – can you imagine if you should them an 8-track? Oops, am I dating myself here.

  5. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 15:39:16

    that should be “showed” not should. sorry!

  6. Rachel
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 03:07:36

    Thank you for visiting me on my SITS day…it was so great to get so much bloggy love, it was almost overwhelming! Sorry it took so long to respond back!

Leave a Reply

