Snow Day??

Being a native of Pittsburgh (yee-haw go Steelers!), one was very accustomed to the white fluffy stuff floating down from the sky.  One of the reasons (among many others) why my childhood rocked was because of the wintry fun in snow.

Some of my favorite memories:

*snowball fights at the bus stop

*tossing snowballs aimed at the stop sign at said bus stop

*getting in trouble for accidentally hitting a car instead of said stop sign 

*sledding down our hill in the backyard

*getting our feet stuck under the tennis court fence at the bottom of said hill

*sticking our tongues to the poles of said chain link fence

*sliding down the swing set slide because it was iced over and you literally flew 

 

So it’s snowing here in the south.  But it’s such a crock.  IT AIN’T STICKING!!

Will my children ever see snow accumulated on the ground???

I think not.

 

**Disclaimer–No, my family did not have tennis courts in our backyard.  Our property line butted up to the neighborhood pool and tennis club.**

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen@ourdailybigtop
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 15:03:43

    What a fun childhood! We haven’t had a good solid snow storm in 2 years. I’m afraid my little one won’t remember what it’s like to play in but at this point, I’m ready for spring. It’s been soooo cold.

  2. amanda
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 10:44:21

    Our snow stuck for just a while… i’ll get pics posted on my blog…

  3. Mimi
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 14:11:42

    We only get a bit of snow, and that is totally fine with me, we got hammered this last month and it was really a totally different world.

  4. Missy
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 21:01:17

    we got maybe an inch, I just posted some pics today. Growing up in Michigan, I have many great memories of snow – and I am used to a LOT of snow. It totally cracks me up that the whole state shut down for barely an inch of snow. We never got a snow day unless it was like 2 feet! ha!

Leave a Reply

