Friday Fragments

Friday Fragments?

 

As last week’s Friday Fragments hit the internet, I hit the bottom of a slide at Monkey Joe’s.

I sprained my ankle, which made it quite the ‘cankle’.

Huh?  What’s a cankle you say?

Cankles are an obese or otherwise swollen ankle that blends into 

the calf without clear demarcation according to Wiktionary.

The last time I had cankles, I was very pregnant with Frick.

 Not a pretty sight.

As the days pass, the swelling decreases and the exquisite purple, black, and blue color combination emerges.

No picture…I will spare you.  

 

You’re welcome.

__________________________________________________________

 

See this shirt?

 

pict0230_2

 

Frack calls it his

“Chick Maggot” shirt.

I chick Maggot!!

_______________________________________________________

 

Frack has FINALLY started to pee on the potty.   For Pete’s sake, the boy will be three next month.   We have been putting him on the potty for months now, to no avail.  

Turns out he prefers to pee at school.  Whodda thought??

Each time I take him to the potty, I still have a certain mental picture.

To refresh your memory…

One night during bath time, Frack stood up, pointed to the toilet, and said, “I pee…I pee Mama!”

I got him out and put him on the toilet.

I am probably the ONLY person in the whole world who puts her boys backwards on the toilet when training. By doing so, they have the lid to hold on to.  I digress….

Frack was wet, straight from the tub. I should have dried him.

He slipped and his sweet bottom fell into the toilet!

His arms and legs were up at his head!

After getting over the shock and then realizing he was Ok, I doubled over with laughter. He joined in with me.

Now I am sure you understand why I think of this every time he goes to the bathroom.

____________________________________________________

 

tiger-paw1

 

+

 

axo

 

=

 

A reunion next weekend!!  

 

___________________________________________________________

 

Go by and visit Mrs. 4444 for more Friday Fragments.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaina
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 14:52:02

    I hope your ankle heals soon!

  2. Patrice
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 15:11:06

    Omg! Y didn’t I know your an AXO!!!? I’m so excited- were sisters! Lol I’m an AXO too! Now we can share all our secrets & stuff haha. A reunion sounds like a blast I’m sure you’ll have a great time!

  3. Lilly
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 16:10:00

    You poor thing – sprained ankles hurt. Enjoy your reunion. Whats an AXO?

  4. Mandy
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 16:16:19

    AXO is our sorority…Alpha Chi Omega. It’s a social group in colleges. 🙂

  5. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 17:15:58

    Chick maggot, eww. Funny, though. Cute, little, slippery sweetie, he is!

  6. Brandie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 17:46:30

    Well…I hate to hear about your ankle but that answers a question for me and Pa! Pa said he saw you limping on Tuesday and he asked Isaac “What is wrong with Mrs. Pond’s foot?”. Isaac said “She slipped on the slide.”. Pa and I were trying to figure out what you were doing on the 3 year old slide at preschool!!!

  7. mimima
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 18:46:17

    Chick Maggot. Bwahahahahahahahah.

    Cankles is a fun word, but sorry you are going through it.

  8. hyperactivelu
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 20:36:38

    I love the Chick Maggot!!! Hilarious! I can so see him saying that!!!

    BTW, I think you’re smart- always point the child to the back of the potty…. helps keep the pee in the potty and not on your walls!!!

    Glad the good ole Frack is coming around and becoming a big boy!!! How is he 3?!?!? Wow! Time flies!!!

  9. Christie
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 20:39:10

    Yay for the reunion! I will see you there!

  10. Jenners
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 22:12:30

    Jeez…hope your ankle feels better soon!

    Love Chick Maggot! It is so funny when kids get the words wrong and that one is particularly good.

    And so funny that he prefers to pee at school. My son was the same way because the toilets were smaller and more comfortable for him. I actually talked to my husband about looking for a smaller toilet to install at home and he said “No way. You’re nuts.” I was at the time … I was so desperate to get him potty trained. Then I found this little portable urinal (Peter Potty) that even flushed and that did the trick for him. Totally neat little thing!

  11. Missy
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 00:16:17

    Omgosh you are so funny, I was laughing out loud and reading this post to Sam and Alex!!!

    I am so sorry your ankle is still puffed up! I hope you get to feeling better soon.

    The Chick Maggot Shirt is a riot, too funny!

    As long as his is hitting the potty, flip him around! Don’t worry about him, he’ll snap into a full time potty pee in no time! Alex didn’t like the seat was cold when he “went” and therefore didn’t want to get near the potty! We flushed everything for target practice, i.e. cheerios, slips of toilet paper flakes. I even sung songs NOTHING worked! Until I got Alex around his cousin who was a month and a half older and there was some competition!! Then he took to the potty-must be a guy thing?

    He was right around 3 years old.

    Good luck!!

  12. Jen@OurDailyBigTop
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 10:25:20

    Stopping by from SITS. What a funny post. I can related to the potty training having just gone through it for the last time this past fall. It was a struggle but we’re done…I never thought we would get through it. My son was 3 and he was so stubborn. Good luck with the PT!

  13. Mel
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 11:25:17

    Only wikitionary would actually have a definition for cankles!! Sorry for your pain!

    My guy was just past three when we potty trained, we still have issues!

  14. Hip Moms Guide
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 16:01:50

    Owww – bummer about the cankle!

    Love the “fell in the potty” story. I put my boys on backwards, too, when they were learning. So much easier (and less messy)!

    And, last but not least, another fellow AXO. Love in the bond, and all that jazz. Who knew?!

  15. Mrs. Cox
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 15:25:27

    Sorry, but the word cankle is brilliant. I also love “Thass”…I had to break that one down for my mom a few days ago when I was trying on jeans.
    You know, where your thigh meets your ass…She goes, “Oh is that what it’s called??” Yes, that’s the technical term… 😉

Leave a Reply

