Name That Tune

I had such fun with this game on Angie’s site.

Here are the rules:

Step 1: Put your music player on shuffle.

Step 2: Post the first line or two (unless the first line reveals the song title) from the first 25 songs that play.  **If the first line had the title in it, I blanked it out.**

Step 3: Strike through the songs when someone guesses both artist and song title correctly.

**Beware…there are some of my kids’ songs mixed in here.  I take my iPod in the car with us and have playlists for the boys.  We downloaded theme songs from movies, TV shows, etc.  You mommies may be able to guess them!**

1.  Jump back, whats that sound ?  Here she comes, full blast and top down. Angie (Panama, Van Halen)

2.  (title) (title)  We’re on our way.  To help a friend and save the day. Cassie (Wonder Pets)

3.  You can dance, you can jive, having the time of your life!  See that girl, watch that scene, dig in the  (title). Kimberly (Dancing Queen, ABBA)

4.  So (title), funny how it seems.  Always in time, but never in line for dreams.  Head over heels when toe to toe.  This is the sound of my soul.  This is the sound. Anna and Michelle (True, Spandu Ballet)

5.  Oh here it comes again.  That funny feelin again winding me up inside.  Every time we touch.  Hey I dont know.  Just tell me where to begin cause I never ever.  Felt so much. Mrs. Cox (Why Can’t This Be Love, Van Halen)

6.   (dooda-dit-dooda), (dit-dooda-dit-dooda)  There’s a port on a western bay.  And it serves a hundred ships a day.  Lonely sailors pass the time away.  And talk about their homes. Amanda (Brandy, The Looking Glass)

7.  Now you say you’re lonely .  You cry the long night through.  Well, you can (title).  (title).  I (title) over you. Nini (Cry Me a River, Diana Krall’s version)

8.  My baby don’t mess around.  Because she loves me so.  And this I know for shooo…  Uh, But does she really wanna.  But can’t stand to see me walk out the dooor. Kimberly (Hey Ya!  OutKast)

9.  I’m fifteen for a moment.  Caught in between 10 and 20 and I’m just dreaming. Counting the ways to where you are. Amanda and Mimi (100 Years, Five for Fighting)

10.  Where it began, I can’t begin to know when.  But then I know it’s growing strong.  Oh, wasn’t the spring, whooo.  And spring became the summer.  Who’d believe you’d come along. Cassie (Sweet Caroline, Neil Diamond)

11. Where is the moment we needed the most.  You kick up the leaves and the magic is lost.  They tell me your blue skies fade to gray.  They tell me your passion’s gone away.  And I don’t need no carryin’ on. Michelle (Bad Day, Daniel Powter–my version was Alvin and the Chipmunks)

12.  An angels smile is what you sell.  You promise me heaven, then put me through hell.  Chains of love got a hold on me.  When passions a prison, you can’t break free. Kimberly (Livin’ On a Prayer, Bon Jovi)

13.  (title) to be loved by anyone.  (title) to have fun with anyone.  But when I see you hanging about with anyone.  (title) to see me cry, oh I wanna’ die. Lynette (It’s Not Unusual, Tom Jones–I LOVE this song!)

14.  Do you remember the 21st night of (title)?   Love was changing the minds of pretenders.  While chasing the clouds away. Lynette and Kimberly (September, Earth, Wind, and Fire)

15.  Oh the morning sun in all its glory greets the day with hope and comfort too.  And you fill my life with laughter.  You can make it better.  Ease my troubles thats what you do. Mimi (Have I Told You Lately, Van Morrison–I like this version better, too!)

16. I’m American made Bud Light,Chevrolet.  My momma taught me wrong from right.  I was born in the South.  Sometimes I have a big mouth.  When I see something that I don’t like, I gotta say it. Nini (Real Gone, Sheryl Crow)

17.  Poor old Johnny Ray, sounded sad upon the radio, he moved a million hearts in mono.   Our mothers cried and sang along and who’d blame them.  Now you’re grown, so grown, now I must say more than ever. Go Toora Loora Toora Loo-Rye-Aye and we can sing just like our fathers. Angie (Come on Eileen, Dexy’s Midnight Runners)

18.  (title), (title) a song, (title) out loud, (title) out strong.  (title) of good things, not bad.  (title) of happy, not sad. Lynette and Kimberly (Sing, The Carpenters (or Elmo and Big Bird))

19.  I’ve been searching a long time for someone exactly like you. I’ve been travelling all around the world, waiting for you to come through.  (title) makes it all worth while.  (title) keeps me satisfied. someone exactly like you.

20.  Her name was Lola, she was a showgirl. With yellow feathers in her hair and a dress cut down to there. She would merengue and do the cha-cha .  Amanda and Mimi (Copacabana, Barry Manilow–told ya I was a Fanilow!!)

21.  I‘m sailing away, set an open course for the virgin sea. I’ve got to be free, free to face the life thats ahead of me.  On board, Im the captain, so climb aboard.  Well search for tomorrow on every shore.  And Ill try, oh lord, Ill try to carry on. Cassie (Come Sail Away, Styx)

22. Well, its a marvelous night for a (title).  With the stars up above in your eyes.  A fantabulous night to make romance neath the cover of October skies. Mimi (Moondance, Van Morrison)

23. Once upon a time, not so long ago….Tommy used to work on the docks.  Unions been on strike,  he’s down on his luck…its tough, so tough. Angie and Mimi (Living on a Prayer, Bon Jovi)

24.  Life’s like a road that you travel on.  There’s one day here and the next day gone.  Sometimes you bend, sometimes you stand.  Sometimes you turn your back to the wind. Angie (Life is a Highway, Tom Cochran–although the version I have on my iPod is Rascal Flatts (From the movie Cars for my kids)–I agree, Angie…Tom’s version is better!)

25.  In the day we sweat it out in the streets of a runaway american dream.  At night we ride through mansions of glory in suicide machines. Mimi (Born to Run, Bruce Springsteen)

**Now get to guessing!  I will update this post as I get your comments!**

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 11:00:01

    There are some that I know that I know, but I just can’t focus with the kids talking and playing games around me.

    Here is what I could come up with:

    1. Panama – Van Halen (man — this one drove me crazy for quite a while)

    17. Come on Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners (though I also have the version by Save Ferris on my iPod, and I like it best)

    23. Livin’ on a Prayer – Bon Jovi

    24. Life is a Highway – Tom Cochrane (though I know it was re-done by some country band as well, but I like the original version)

  2. Amanda
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 12:03:46

    ok

    6. Brandy by Looking Glass (love this one)
    9. 100 Years by Five For Fighting (love this one too)
    20. Copacabana by Barry Manilow!

  3. Mimi
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 13:34:13

    I know 9 but I don’t know either the title or the artist. It’s the one about “when you only have one hundred years to live”

    15. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You by Van Morrison (or Rod Stewart)

    20. Cococabana by Barry Manilow

    22. Moondance by Van Morrison

    23. Livin on a Prayer by Bon Jovi

    25. Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen.

    This is fun, I’ve been having a good time with it.

  4. Mandy
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 13:47:56

    You ladies are on it! All of you were right. 🙂 I can’t believe Mimi got Born to Run. Out of all the songs, I thought that would be the hardest.

  5. Mimi
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 14:17:13

    I love Van Morrison – he and I share a birthday which means something, right? Grin!

  6. Amanda
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 14:59:46

    I will have to give this a try again – I can read again and hear in my head…i def hear some more Bon Jovi!!! LOVE IT!

  7. lynette
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 20:01:43

    #13 It’s not unusual – That tom jones 😉
    #14 September. I ❤ Earth, Wind & Fire
    #18 Sing. (I never knew that was the name of that song)

    Ohhh, fun!

  8. Kimberly
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 20:46:39

    #3 – Dancing Queen Abba

    #8 – Hey Ya Outkast

    #12 – Livin’ On a Prayer Bon Jovi

    #14 – September Earth Wind and Fire

    #18 Sing Big Bird

    I love “name that tune!” It’s one thing that I’m halfway good at it!! 🙂

  9. Mandy
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 21:55:15

    Kimberly and Lynette….You are right as well! I am having so much fun with this!

  10. The Blonde Duck
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 21:59:13

    Crap. I got to think about this.

  11. Pooba
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 00:16:11

    Oh gosh, all the ones I knew were already crossed out! Bummer!

  12. Anna Lefler
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 00:33:54

    OK, I know #4 is Spandeau Ballet but can’t remember the title! ARGH!!!!

    Happy New Year anyway…

    :^) Anna

  13. Michelle
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 01:13:26

    #4 – True by Spandau Ballet
    #11 – Bad Day by Daniel Powter

    Now that was fun. I think I’m going to try it on my blog! 🙂

  14. Cassie
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 14:11:34

    #2 is Wonder Pets

  15. Cassie
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 14:12:17

    #10 is Sweet Caroline

  16. Cassie
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 14:13:45

    #21 is Styx “Come Sail Away”

    Gee, this IS fun!

  17. Patrice
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 14:17:47

    FUN! I love this little game! I am definitely gonna have 2 do this sometime!

  18. Mrs. Cox
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 20:33:06

    #5 Van Halen why can’t this be love

  19. Mandy
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 20:36:35

    Cassie and Mrs. Cox…right, right, right, and right!!

    Now that only leaves #7, #16, and #19. Do we need hints????

  20. nini
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 21:54:19

    cry me a river..you can cry me a river..I’ll cry a river over you!!! yeah!!!

  21. nini
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 21:58:11

    real gone sheryl crow!

  22. Mandy
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 21:58:37

    Nini…wow. I am impressed. 🙂

  23. nini
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 21:59:25

    i forgot to put the #’s…you know which one are which!

  24. Mandy
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 22:05:26

    I just figured out Nini knows how to Google. Cheater.

  25. nini
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 22:10:25

    how do you think i passed geometry I?

  26. Mrs. Cox
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 22:20:15

    I had to start one of my own… This is too dang fun. =)

  27. Jaina
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 15:21:06

    What a neat game!

Leave a Reply

