Remembrance

I know this makes two posts in one day….

Today is my grandmother’s birthday.  She would have been 91.

She passed away May 8, 2005.

 

My grandfather, her husband, passed away on December 4, 1999.

 

I wrote this post in May about my grandparents:

I have such fond memories of my grandparents. Growing up, we spent a lot of time with Grandma, Granny, and Pap-Pap. I remember the solitaire card games on weekend visits with Grandma. There were lots of Klondike bars, Cracker Jacks, and Scrabble games with Granny and Pap-Pap. My Granny was the only one who was able to see me get married and have a baby. I would visit her every Tuesday with Frick when he was an infant. In fact, Frick rolled over for the first time in her apartment. All of these beloved people have since passed on, but their memories are alive in my heart and dreams.

Not too long ago, I had a dream that was so realistic, I question the fact that it was a dream. It started with me taking Frick and Frack to the babysitter’s house one morning. When I got there, my grandfather, Pap-Pap, answered the door. I was surprised that he answered the door and quickly threw my arms around him. He hugged me back and said that Granny was waiting in the kitchen with the babysitter. I, of course, ran into the house and hugged Granny as well. I cornered the babysitter in another room and asked her what my grandparents were doing over at her house. She said (and I will never forget), “Well, Mandy, they come here everyday to spend time with Frick and Frack.”

I am still so moved when I think about this dream. I have such comfort that my ALL of my grandparents have come to know my children in some shape or form. Dreams like this are God’s way of telling you that your loved ones are OK and watching over you. What a gift.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 16:12:25

    That dream gives me goose bumps.

    BTW, I tagged you whenever you’re up to a MEME!

  2. Hip Mom's Guide
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 19:24:20

    What an awesome reassurance!

  3. Sharon
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 20:26:21

    How beautiful, Mandy! Happy Birthday to your Grandma, whom I’m sure is touched reading this from above.

  4. vodkamom
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 22:04:00

    I LOVE that post. My grandmother came to me in a dream last year. I can’t remember which post it was, but it was so, so emotional for me.

    loved this.

  5. michelle
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 22:08:26

    That is a blessing. I really miss my Grandparents as well.

  6. Missy
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 02:12:54

    That was a nice post. I think that is so cool. After my MIL passed I dreamed of her outside in our yard where she was the happiest at and I had this warm sun melt all over my skin as I watched her. I cannot give the sun description enough justice of the warmth and love it included but I am so much at peace with her passing now because of it. :} Thanks for sharing!!!

  7. Jeannie
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 18:36:59

    Oh that’s such a sweet dream!!!!! Hugs!

  8. bloggingexperiments
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 08:03:22

    What a gift indeed.

  9. Mon
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 10:37:17

    This is a lovely post. I never knew my grandparents on one side, and barely on the other. You are very fortunate.

  10. CarrieLyn
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 14:08:55

    I love that story…Thanks for sharing. I know the chances of my future kids knowing my grandparents is really slim but I like the idea that it’s all okay.

  11. Martha
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 19:21:26

    That is so touching. My brother came to me in a dream six months after he died so I could start to heal from the pain of losing him.
    Thank you.

  12. Cleosheba
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 20:51:10

    Mandy, we remember your grandfather fondly. He was and still is a Steeler Fan.

    Joe

  13. Mrs4444
    Dec 13, 2008 @ 13:06:46

    Oh, Mandy! That is SUCH a beautiful story! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

