Mary and Joseph on Comedy Central

All this week, BP and I are portraying Mary and Joseph in a live nativity.  It is such a fun way to get into the real reason of the Christmas season.

Our scene is called The Journey, where Mary, who is very much with child, and Joseph are resting by a fire for the night before making their way into the city of Bethlehem.  Our donkey is munching on some near by hay.

There is a lot of down time as we wait for groups to make their way to our scene.

To make good use of the time, BP and I practice our lines.

 

BP: (holding his staff) Watch me turn this stick into a snake!

Me: I need an epidural…STAT!!

Donkey: Hee haw, hee haw, hee haw!!!

 

Me:  Shazaam!!!

BP: Thank you.  Thank you very much.  We will be here all four nights.

 

 

photo

That’s me.  Taken with an iPhone.  ‘Cause they had those in Bethlehem.

 

**Disclaimer….BP and I understand the seriousness of our roles.  We were humbled to play these important people.  However, we were cold and trying to pass the time.  You would have done the same thing, too.**

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 22:31:45

    Ha! Hilarious! I wondered what y’all did….lots of talking time! 🙂 And yes, it was VERY cold!

    Y’all did a great job! So serious! I wanted to take a pic, but refrained! 🙂

  2. Chelle
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 22:45:16

    Lol!! Too funny 🙂

    I don’t blame you for being funny….what else are you supposed to do?!

  3. Missy
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:46:43

    HAHAHA!!! That is a riot I would have passed out from laughing if I walked up and saw you two saying that!!! Keep up the funny!!!

  4. The Blonde Duck
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 06:51:20

    I think it’s funny. Poo on those who want seriousness all the time!

  5. Susan
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 08:41:32

    I need to see a picture of this scene!!! 🙂

  6. Cassie
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 09:25:40

    LOL. Maybe Mary didn’t need an epidural. I mean, he was conceived by magic ( you know what I mean), so maybe he made a perfectly painless entrance into the world. I would certainly hope so 🙂

  7. Hip Mom's Guide
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 10:10:49

    This cracks me up. And, yes, how about a picture, Mary and Joseph?

  8. a real anti-supermom
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 11:13:25

    Ill be thinking of you when we visit our live nativity in a few weeks. The difference, they/we are in the freezing cold Minnesota weather.

    I’m with another poster, I wish you had a picture!

  9. Amanda
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 12:22:23

    Y’all are TOO funny!!!!!

  10. Mandy
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 13:38:58

    Picture posted. BP …er… Joseph took it with his iPhone.

  11. Pooba
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 15:48:40

    Are you for real? I wanna see the whole scene! What, you have to stay outside? For how long? Who’s the donkey and how can I get me one?

  12. Mandy
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 15:59:46

    I’m working on getting pictures of the whole scene. We do stay outside for an hour and a half at a time. The donkey, affectionately named ‘Patrick’ by Frick, is part of a local animal farm(?) I think. 🙂

  13. Margaret
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 20:27:18

    hilarious!!!! i’d be doing the same thing–gotta pass the time somehow, right? love the iphone pic, and i want to see pics of the whole thing! 🙂

  14. Andrea
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:17:22

    Ha ha ha! Yes I would have done the same thing. You look great as mary! =)

  15. entertainingmom
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 21:09:41

    I am LOL!!! That’s a nice style on you!

  16. Mrs4444
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 02:03:28

    Oh, how I wish I could buy a ticket! You look beautiful, BTW…

  17. Cassie
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 23:14:57

    How funny – of course we would all do the same thing, but you and BP are funnier at it than most people!

    Not to get all serious on you, but the other Cassie’s guess is right on. Mary’s labor pains have been debated by the greatest minds and it was decided, and I think it was St. Augustine who had the best argument, that she could not have experienced labor pains as that is a consequence of original sin and she was conceived immaculately and freed from all of that.

  18. Sugar Mommy
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 04:16:49

    Jesus would have totally laughed with you.

    Well, actually, He probably DID laugh since He’s sitting next to God right now. He probably elbowed Him on His right side and said, “Check out these comediens!”

  19. Stephanie Espo
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 10:10:28

    Hola lady! This is too cute! I’m sorry you were “upstaged” by the Donkey!

Leave a Reply

