Holy Cow!

Way back in 1998, one of my sorority sisters at Clemson suggested a fabulous book, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  I tore through that book in a day. 

(That was during a time in my life when I could sit down and read and read and read and read to my hearts content.   FYI–That doesn’t happen anymore.)

Ever since that day, I fell for Mr. Sparks hook, line, and sinker.

I have read every single book he has penned.

My brother, Uncle B, teases me to this day about my love affair with these books.

I own the hardback cover of each one, except his latest, The Lucky One.

 

lucky

I am currently on the waiting list at my local library for that book.

Guess what, Dreamers!!

I CAN TAKE MY NAME OFF THAT LIST

because

my friend, Cassie, at Southern Domestic Goddess, had this book as a giveway.

HOLY COW!!

I just won my first giveaway!  And it was something that I REALLY, REALLY wanted!

 

Thanks, Cassie, for making my morning!!

 

Here’s what I want to know…

As I wait for this SPLENDID book to arrive, what else can I read (besides Twilight)?  

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 10:24:34

    Woo hoo! I love winning contests!!! 🙂 Congrats!

  2. Jeannie
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 10:34:53

    Congratulations! I just finished Dewey, and blogged about it. It was really wonderful and an easy read.

    I love Danielle Steel (although I’m wayyy behind in my reading and just picked up her latest – though I have 3 or 4 still to read), the Twilight series and ANYTHING by Phillipa Gregory.

    Happy reading and thank you for the bloggy love!

  3. nini
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 11:16:45

    Janey, get off the Sparks wagon and read something….well, we’ve been down this road before!

    here are two books “with some content” that you’ll also “just fly through”. My book club has enjoyed these. Both are based on “real” people. Jeannette, if I rem correctly, is a TV correspondent, who found her mother digging through a dumpster in NYC, while she was riding by in a limo. It’s fascinating and insightful.
    Of course, we all know Frank Lloyd Wright, but many of you have not even begun to imagine how strange, tragic, and interesting his life really was. And, hey, it’s a love story!

    The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls 288 pages
    Jeannette Walls’s father always called her “Mountain Goat” and there’s perhaps no more apt nickname for a girl who navigated a sheer and towering cliff of childhood both daily and stoically. In The Glass Castle, Walls chronicles her upbringing at the hands of eccentric, nomadic parents. To call the elder Walls’s childrearing style laissez faire would be putting it mildly. But while Rex and Rose Mary firmly believed children learned best from their own mistakes, they themselves never seemed to do so, repeating the same disastrous patterns that eventually landed them on the streets, Walls respects her parents’ knack for making hardships feel like adventures, and her love for them—despite their overwhelming self-absorption—resonates from cover to cover.

    Loving Frank by Nancy Horan-It’s a rare treasure to find a historically imagined novel that is at once fully versed in the facts and unafraid of weaving those truths into a story that dares to explore the unanswered questions. Frank Lloyd Wright and Mamah Cheney’s love story is little-known and often dismissed as scandal. In Nancy Horan’s skillful hands, however, what you get is two fully realized people, entirely, irrepressibly, in love. Together, Frank and Mamah are a wholly modern portrait, and while you can easily imagine them in the here and now, it’s their presence in the world of early 20th century America that shades how authentic and, ultimately, tragic their story is. Loving Frank is a remarkable literary achievement, tenderly acute and even-handed in even the most heartbreaking moments, and an auspicious debut from a writer to watch. (400 pgs.)

    I have a great idea…why don’t you and your blogging friends pick one of these to read, say in the month of Dec; and then they could leave comments on your blog. It would be a blogging book club ! Whadaya say about that???
    Nini

  4. Saundra
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 15:02:26

    Thank you sooo much for saying what you said on my blog!!! it really means sooo much to me!

    Raising boys is a mission from God to raise good, eternal Men!

    I love, love, love Luanne Rice, Jennifer Henderson’s Omalley series, and James Patterson’s the Lake House.

  5. wheresmyangels
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 03:02:58

    I never could really like that book. I think that it was made too big by Oprah and couldn’t live up to it’s rep.

    My favorite book of all time was Beach Music by Pat Conroy

  6. Jeannie
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 06:27:44

    Hey Girl!! Get back here and post something!!!

    You.Are. Saucy.This.Week!!!!!!

    Congratulations!

  7. Mmmm...Tastes Good
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:09:58

    Hey! You were below me on SITS roll call today so I’m stopping by!

    I second The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls. I really enjoyed the story and writing style.

    If you are looking to laugh out loud try Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster. Hilariously funny.

    Now off to check out the rest of your blog…

  8. Mrs. S
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:57:50

    You’ll have to let us know if it’s good. I liked his last few books “At First Sight” and “Dear John” (although I didn’t like DJ’s ending).

  9. Michelle
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 09:10:13

    I too love his books! I have not read this one yet. Lucky YOU for winning!

  10. Susan In The Psych Ward
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 10:06:19

    You were meant to win that book!!!

    I love all kinds of books… funny ones are my favorite… I love Anne George, she was from Birmingham and set her stories here so it was easy to visualize… she got me into reading. The first one is “Murder on a Bad Hair Day” if you’ve never read them…

  11. mrs de miranda
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 10:21:28

    OH! Congrats!! I’m sooo jealous!! I love Nic as well! I have been reading his books for years now and they are simply THE BEST! I need to get that one, but I am too cheap to buy the hardback, so I will have to wait….maybe i can hint around to someone for xmas….hmmm…

    It’s so fun to win! Especially when it is something SO good!

  12. Andrea
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 11:25:25

    What kind of books do you like? I love Mary Janice Davidson… she does the supernatural (vampires, werewolves) with a funny and sassy twist.

  13. Brandie
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 17:08:13

    This summer I read Cassandra King’s book The Same Sweet Girls – LOVED it!! She is Pat Conroy’s wife – I have read several of her books. This one is about 5 ladies who roomed in college together and they get together twice a year for reunions. It is a great read – funny and sad.

  14. Tiffany
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 18:14:05

    congrats on winning the book and on being Saucy this week! I also loved The Notebook and The Wedding. I’ve read a few others from Sparks but those were my favs.

  15. betty
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 19:28:40

    I LOVE me some Nicholas Sparks! I asked for this book for Christmas.

  16. Debie
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 06:29:50

    WTG on the Saucy Blog list! Question – which Sparks book did you enjoy the most – which one like you?

    Just curious.

  17. Yaya
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 06:30:44

    Awesome!
    Hmmm…what to read in the meantime?
    Have you read the Shopoholic series by Sophie Kinsella? Quick, light reads, totally cute!

  18. Heather Abounader
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 09:59:34

    Congratulations on winning! and Congrats on being a SITS Saucy blog!

  19. Jennifer
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 23:17:17

    Wow! What a great giveaway to win!! A much desired one is the best! Congrats on being saucy this week!!

  20. Dddiva
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 01:32:38

    Congrats on being Saucy. For a good read I like Nora Roberts- she really knows people and family dynamics and I really enjoy the way she tells a story. Hers are books I like to own so I can go back and revisit the characters.

  21. kjamama
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 12:34:18

    Congrats on having a Saucy Blog, and winning the giveaway!! Have you read anything by Paullina Simons? I just recently read her trilogy, “The Bronze Horseman”, “Tatiana & Alexander”, and “The Summer Garden”….they’re about this Russian girl who meets a handsome Soviet Soldier during WWII in Leningrad. They are SO good I couldn’t put them down, you’ll have to try them!

  22. Elizabeth M.
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 17:35:02

    I need to revisit Mr. Sparks again. I’m so glad you’re saucy because now I have a renewed itch to read !

  23. Jennifer
    Nov 18, 2008 @ 18:54:21

    Um , hello–I named my kid after one of ole Nick’s characters!! lol! (Landon from A Walk to Remember) :o) I’m a bit of a fan—errr, WAS before becoming a mom :oD

  24. Brenda
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 19:20:25

    I’m afraid to read his books– they look like ones where someone is going to die and I’m going to be weeping for days. I’m a wimp that way. I do love Twilight though. Sigh. I am on the second time around for all four of them.

  25. justjuli
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 22:37:14

    Congrats!

    I also read The Notebook in college – borrowed from one of my sorority sisters. I stayed up all night and finished it close to 4am.

    I love his books. I don’t own any hardcovers, but I have some paperbacks, and a few DVD’s

    Way to go on the Saucy Blog!

  26. Pooba
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 11:09:11

    I just finished reading Secret Life of Bees. It was pretty good. But my all time favorite is the classic To Kill A Mocking Bird.

Leave a Reply

