I Think I’ll Move to Australia.


200px-alexander_terrible_horrible

One of my passions is children’s literature.  Being a teacher, I have a vast library of books that I love to read to my students and my own children.  Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day is a staple here during bed time at The Money Pit.  There are five other books in Judith Viorst’s Alexander series, but this is my favorite.

It’s no wonder that my children can recite the thing.  If YOU are at all familiar with this book, you will notice our dialog came straight from the pages:

 

 

Frick cried and cried after I walked out of his room during nap time.  I took care of some chores and checked on him again.  His crying had not subsided.  I open the door and sat next to him.

Frick: (while sobbing) I am having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day!  I think I’ll move to Australia!

Me: Some days are like that. 

Frick:  (smiling) Even in Australia.

 

 

 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mpeters
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 07:54:07

    Hi, stopping by from SITS.

    Cute story!

    and Fred and Barney are adorable.

  2. a real anti-supermom
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 11:07:18

    Gosh, I was having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day yesterday. Must be the weather.

    Cute stuff~

  3. hyperactivelu
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 11:41:00

    Awwww…. I love that book! My mother use to read that to us.. It must have been therapy for her! Ha! Sorry Frick is having such a rough day!

  4. Susan
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 13:34:44

    I love that book! Hope Frick has a better day!

  5. Michelle
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 13:37:28

    I miss reading to my girls!

  6. Georgie
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 15:34:42

    I too miss reading to my beans-they are just told old(at least they think they are) to snuggle in my lap and let me read to them….

  7. Cassie
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 16:28:23

    We love the Alexander books too. My kids love Alexander, Who Used to be Rich. They are obsessed with money.

  8. Jessica
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 21:18:48

    How funny… I was getting ready for my what’s on your kid’s bedside table! Of course this is on Alexander’s! We read it almost daily… and Pinkalicious!

  9. Honey Mommy
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 21:38:09

    I need to get this book! I’ve read it before and I think my boys would love it!

  10. Missy
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 22:16:37

    Oh my goodness, my Alexander LOVES this book! Every now and then we talk about it, he’s 11 so we don’t read it like we used too. But the book brings back many happy snuggle memories! I hope your Frick feels better soon !

  11. Sabrae Carter
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 01:23:15

    Gosh I remeber that book!!!

  12. andrea
    Nov 14, 2008 @ 23:30:54

    This was my FAVORITE book as a child. I remember reading it over and over again at my grandparents.

  13. Hip Mom's Guide
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 21:27:28

    How wonderful that he knew just what to quote! Such a great book, and so true.

  14. Jennifer
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 20:46:56

    Popping in from SITS. 🙂 I absolutely adore that book. It was always one of boys’ favourites.

  15. Louisa
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 21:10:47

    I love this! I am from Australia, I will have to get my hands on a copy of this book!!

  16. Meryl
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 09:46:08

    I used to read that book all the time as a kid and have spent numerous terrible horrible no good very bad days contemplating moving there. Recently I told my dad I decided to spend some time there once I save some money and get a work visa. He got worried (I am his baby girl) I told him he shouldn’t have gave me that book . . . that and reminded him I’m 25 : )

Leave a Reply

