A Look Back

I saw this on my friend Sarah’s blog.  Sarah was/is in my sorority family at Clemson.   I tweaked it a tad, so if you want the real deal, pop over to Sarah’s blog.  

 

10 Years Ago~October 1998
I was in my first year of teaching second grade.  This was one of the WORST classes I have ever taught.  In fact, my first three years of teaching pretty much bit the BIG one.  Anyway, BP and I were dating. Being a very traditional and conservative person,  I was living with my parents.  They made me pay “rent” to them–$600/month.  I use the term “rent” lightly because my mom actaully stashed the cash in a money market for me.  When BP and I were buying a house 2 years later, I had enough money to put down 10%. 

Gas was totally under a dollar.

5 Years Ago ~ October 2003
BP and I just moved into The Money Pit that year.  I started graduate school and had lost 30 pounds with Weight Watchers.  I was teaching THE BEST second grade class I ever taught at a different school than in 1998.  Great kids, awesome parents abound.  We found our dog, Sophie, that summer in the school parking lot lapping up water stains on the concrete.

Gas was probably just over $2.

1 Year Ago ~ October 2007
Still in The Money Pit, watching rain fall into the house like a monsoon in two different places.  I specifically remember looking at BP and saying, “Guess we need to get a new roof.”  I obtained my Masters degree three years prior and was teaching at “The New School” in my county.   Frick was about to turn 3 and Frack was one and a half.

 It is absolutely baffling how much changed from 2003 to 2007.

 

Gas was almost $3, I think.

1 Year from Now ~ October 2009
I would love to continue to teach preschool and enjoy my new porch.  Who knows what the future holds?

 

The price of gas is comparable to a yo-yo.


 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Newlywed
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 09:29:30

    Hmm…I may steal this from you later this week…

  2. Amanda
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 09:56:14

    Yes, I may also do this one later in the week…I like these “flashback” kind of things!!!! And it is something about the gas prices – I was just thinking about it this morning!

  3. hyperactivelu
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 10:30:13

    Looks like a good one!!! Loved reading about your past!

  4. Sarah
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 20:17:34

    I’m glad you passed this along! It was fun learning what my Grand Big was up to since graduating. 🙂

  5. Jessica
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 22:46:16

    I might have to too! Where does Milli Vanilli fit into the picture?!

  6. Dana
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 21:48:51

    I’m so going to steal this. October of 98 was when Adam and I got engaged. Wow, I’m old..

Leave a Reply

