The Energizer Bunny

I spent three hours in the ER last night with Frack.

 He has croup.  

Scary stuff.

After a steroid shot and a breathing treatment, he turned into the Energizer Bunny.

He was up until 4:00am this morning.

 FOUR O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 09:38:07

    So sorry to hear that Frack is sick. I hope he feels better and naps all day!

  2. Amanda
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 11:22:27

    Yes – I agree with you that it is scary stuff. Avery had just a slight touch of it about a month ago…then Lauren got it. She was MUCH worse then him. We ended up having to do the breathing treatments for her and steroids for both… Avery was a nightmare on those things! Hope Frack feels better soon!!!

  3. hyperactivelu
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 14:00:06

    Oh no! Were y’all still out of town? Croup is scary stuff, but I’ve never had to take Chandler to the ER for it. Bless your heart. Hope you get some rest and Frack gets better soon!

  4. Michelle
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 14:20:47

    Sorry to hear your son has been sick. My youngest had croup once and it was scary. Especially when the nurse at the ER told us to pull over and call 911 if she started to turn blue on our drive to the hospital!!! I hope he feels better soon and you catch up on some sleep!

  5. Heather
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 15:46:47

    How is Frack doing now? I hope he is feeling better, but also catching up on that lost sleep! 🙂

  6. Jessica
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 17:53:33

    Those steroid shots are terrible? I always wondered why they have to be administered at night as opposed to the morning. Hoping Frack is a little bit better. Croup is no fun!

  7. Kaycee
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 18:18:05

    Hi! Thanks for visiting my b log.

    I’m so sorry about your son being in the ER and you having to be up so late/early! EEK! Hope he is feeling better.

  8. Jennifer
    Oct 05, 2008 @ 18:54:17

    Oh no, Mandy between the worry and the lack of sleep, you must be going nuts right now!! I will definitely be praying for all of you! :o( I had to go o te ER a couple of weeks ago for the SVT/heart thing and a couple of people were hacking away with the croup–It sounded horrible and made me wan o cover my mouth and run home! BLEH! I can’t imagine a little guy having to go through that!

  9. Cassie
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 07:19:07

    I’m sorry he’s sick! I hope he feels better soon!

    Jackson is not sick, but he has been keeping us up until 2 am almost every night this week and 4 am one night. Needless to say, I haven’t really gotten much sleep lately!

  10. Aunt Dellie
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 09:47:14

    Ain’t kids fun? Having third and fourth thoughts of having a girl?
    Just hang in there till they’re about 6 and life should get better.
    Don’t ya love how the docs hype the kids up but never give you the antidote.

  11. Becky
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 14:13:32

    Boy I hate that croup. My ten yr old gets it once every winter. Usually I can handle it at home but sometimes we are off to the emergency room for a treatment. These are the same treatments I used to get when I had asthma attacks, I liked the way they made me feel. But after my boy gets one I know how my Mom must have felt after. He bounces everywhere, usually just enough to make throw up. 🙂

  12. Andrea
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 15:02:36

    Yikes. I thought only babies got croup. Prayers for the little guy. I hate sickness.

Leave a Reply

