Your Face Needs Work!

My mom cared for my grandparents as they aged.  She encouraged them to move down south from Pittsburgh and became their life line.  Mom devoted herself to them, especially since my brother and I were away at college and flying the coop.  She has so many stories I can tap into (like the last one I told about Granny).  As hard as it is watching your loved ones grow older and confused, you just gotta laugh at the things that happen.

Pap Pap, my grandfather, was in the hospital having some procedure done. He was in his eighties and the medications they administered left him somewhat agitated and confused. He would not eat his breakfast so a nurse tried to spoon feed him some applesauce.

Nurse: Please, just take one bite.

Pap Pap: I don’t want any applesauce.

Nurse: Come on, just one bite. Your eyes are a beautiful blue.

Pap Pap: I don’t want applesauce. And, your eyes are pretty as well;  but your face really needs work! 

 

At least the nurse thought it was funny.  She’s the one who told my mom about it!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gingela5
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 22:44:29

    Haha that’s funny! I guess some times people are just a little TOO honest! haha Have a great Saturday night! (Found you on SITS!)

  2. hyperactive lu
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 16:19:57

    Ha! That is funny!

  3. NiceOne
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 17:04:57

    I found you through Texan Mama’s blog. What fun you’ve got going on over here!!!!

  4. Melody from ~Pennies In My Pocket~
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 19:03:47

    OK, I just spit on my laptop screen while laughing at this…so funny! You’re so right, we just have to find laughter in times like that. Your post is so precious…I remember times like that with my loved ones as they aged.

    Just wanted to thank you for all your support…your comment really cheered me up. Your smile in your photo makes me smile. You are a BEAUTIFUL woman and I can tell you bring joy to others just by your face….it doesn’t need work at all! 🙂

    ~melody~

  5. Nicole
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 21:00:52

    I love that!

    Found you through SITS :o)

  6. Mrs4444
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 22:17:35

    Aw, poor PawPaw. That must stink to have someone holding a spoon in your face like that. I know it has to be done, though (and her dedication is admirable). Funny post!

  7. Charile
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 12:41:22

    Thanks so much for leaving me a comment on my new site! I can’t wait to see all the advice people have to offer!

    Grandpas are so funny! I love that story!

Leave a Reply

