Susie Homemaker …Err… Not-so-much

Andrea had this on her blog and it got me thinking.  I know that I am not a very good homemaker.  I am better now that children are involved, but these types of things have never been my forte.  Take a glimpse into my somewhat pathetic version of the ABC’s of Homemaking:

 

Aprons – Y/N? If yes, what does your favorite look like?
I actually own two.  One is from the hospital where the boys were born and the other is a Clemson one.  Now ask me how many time I have worn them.  Ummmm….that would be never.

Baking- Favorite thing to bake?  Occasionally.  Favorite thing…cookies.

Clothes line – Y/N? I was actually talking about this today.  I wish I had one.  I think I would love it for the first three loads and then I would think it was a load of crap.  

Donuts – Have you ever made them? No way.  No one beats Dunkin’ Donuts.  BP would disagree.  He prefers Krispy Kreme.

Everyday – One homemaking thing you do everyday.   Laundry in some capacity.  Either washing, drying, folding, putting away.

Freezer – Do you use a deep freeze?  No.

Garbage Disposer Y/N?  Our kitchen does not have one.  I wish we did.

Handbook – What’s your favorite homemaking resource?  My mom (Nini) and sister in law (D).  I think they secretly laugh at me when I call and ask questions.  🙂

Ironing – Love it or Hate it?  Yuck.  I hate it.  Let me tell you about the Mandy Method of Ironing.  You see a wrinkle?  Run your hand under water and then pat it to your wrinkled clothes.  Works like a charm.

Junk Drawer – Y/N? If yes, where is it?  Yes.  I have about 10 of them strategically placed throughout the house.

Kitchen – color & decorating scheme. I hate my kitchen.  Blue counter tops, white cabinets, nasty floral wallpaper, etc.  At least The Fix It Guys broke through the wall some today as they were tearing the vinyl siding off the outside of the house.  Maybe that is the inspiration I need.

Love – what is your favorite part of homemaking?  Homemaking?  Is that what this is called?

Mop – Y/N?  Yes.  How can you not mop with a husband who tracks mud in, two sons who spill stuff and a dog who goes behind everyone and licks it all up?

Nylons, machine or hand wash?  I haven’t worn hose in years.  Trouser socks, yes.  I hand wash those.

Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check?  First, I need to figure out how to turn in on.  Ha ha.  Just kidding.  

Pizza – what do you put on yours?   555-555-1234.  I call Pizza Hut.

Quiet – what do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?  Do you think it’s quiet around here with two preschool boys, a dog, and constant hammering from The Fix It Guys????  

Recipe Card Box – Y/N?  Yes.  Do I use it?  No.

Style of house – what style is your house?  Our house is a 1901 farmhouse in the middle of downtown Smalltown, USA.

Tablecloths and napkins?  Placemats and paper napkins.  Unless I am entertaining, which is never.  Then I bust out the table cloth and cloth napkins.

Under the kitchen sink – organized or toxic wasteland?  Pretty organized.  

Vacuum – how many times per week?  Thanks to Rosie the Roomba, I only use the actual vacuum cleaner that you PHYSICALLY move once or twice a week.  Rosie does the rest for me on a daily basis.

Wash – how many loads of laundry do you do per week?  6-8 loads a week.

Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?  I love lists!  I have a desk calendar that has all  of my things to do written on the day.  They are crossed off when completed.  I also have one on my iGoogle page as well.  

Yard – Who does what?  Currently, it’s a DISASTER AREA.  We are in FULL reconstruction mode.

What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?  So was I supposed to be cleaning or something?  Oops.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. a real anti-supermom
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 22:34:31

    Yes and yes! I thought I was the only one that did the water instead of ironing. Can it be the Mandy/Beth Method?

    I haven’t ironed in probably 5 years.

    19 Minutes makes me never want to boys to grow up.

  2. hyperactive lu
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 23:23:24

    You crack me up! Laughed through the whole post……I don’t think you’re THAT bad! 🙂

  3. andrea
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 15:09:02

    LOL!!! Oh my gosh you are hilarious and I love the Mandy way to iron. I need to try that one out. =)

  4. Missy
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 16:08:40

    LOL, this is great! I am definitely not a Susie Homemaker either.

  5. Susan
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 17:01:26

    I am going to try the Mandy method of ironing!!!! I NEVER iron! My husband does 🙂

  6. Kate
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 18:34:19

    lolol. Thanks for making me feel *not so* bad. Does blogging count as a homemaking task before bed?! I think we need to rewrite these rules! :o)

  7. Dana
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 20:00:03

    I am going to do this and make you feel better when I get a second. I have a Roomba too.. Did you know that they now have Scoomba? It mops!!! I’m so adding that to my want list!

    PS: I thought your house was very warm and inviting! And you do grow your own garden.. How many can say that?

  8. Mamasphere
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 16:19:41

    I despise ironing. Thanks for the hot water tip!

  9. Lisa Sullivan
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 01:07:55

    KRISPY KREMES RULE MY WORLD!!!

  10. Lisa Sullivan
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 01:10:05

    Can you tell I had to come back and read the rest of the list, because I didn’t make it past the doughnuts comment? It’s late…

Leave a Reply

