Remembering

While walking my second graders to the cafeteria, a teacher stopped me in the hallway with the most disturbing news my ears have ever heard.  

I remember the teacher’s name who told me.

I remember what she had on.

I remember what I had on.

I remember what she said.

She pulled me aside from my class and whispered the news in my ear.  

“Please don’t tell the students.  We have been asked to let their parents handle it,” she said.

I remember feeling like I was sucker punched.  All I wanted to do was cry.   But I had to pretend like nothing happened.

Parents started showing up at school and took their children home to hug them tight again. 

BP and I stayed glued to the television with the rest of America watching the coverage, we cried, we prayed. 

 

HappyHourSue had this on her post today.  I have always loved this song.  

I haven’t forgotten that day.

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. HappyHourSue
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 17:04:22

    Thanks for the link -glad you (I can’t say ‘like”) appreciated the video. I was a mess yesterday browsing through the different ones on youtube. So heart-breaking.

  2. Missy
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 21:08:30

    Isn’t it funny (ok not really funny) how we remember exactly at that moment when we heard what was going on that day – I do. Out of the hundreds of days I spent working my same job in the same office, I remember nearly every moment of that one day, because of what happened. It was unbelievable.

  3. Sharon
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 21:28:34

    I get goosebumps each time I remember, and I get them each time I read another’s blog post about it.

    God Bless them all.

  4. Ashley. Unscripted...
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 13:39:17

    That is a beautiful video.

  5. Kelsey
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 21:00:18

    a moment that changed the world! God Bless! Beautiful tribute video!

  6. Cassie
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 21:13:25

    I was outside pushing my only child (at the time)my 21 month old (now almost 9), on the swings. Then we went in and watched Barney. I noticed messages on my asnwering machine and they were all so weird. My mom, just calling to say she was okay (works for Federal Gov’t), my husband calling to say they hadn’t decided whether or not to shut his offces but he would probably be home early (worked in DC area but not for the Gov’t.), etc. It was like the Twilight Zone. What is everybody talking about? I tried calling people back but couldn’t reach them. Finally, when the baby took a nap I turned on the TV and you could have knocked me over with a feather. It was surreal. Thanks for sharing the video.

  7. Half-Past Kissin' Time
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 13:20:21

    I, too, was teaching when it happened; sophomore Social Studies to students with emotional/behavioral disabilities. We heard it on the radio, and two kids said, “YES! Awesome!” (I wanted to choke them.) I cried and wished I could leave to be with my kids. My husband was at a tradeshow in Las Vegas, waiting for me to join him (I didn’t.) Definitely another “JFK moment.”

Leave a Reply

