What Goes Around…

 

Mrs. Teacher: Frick is doing great!  He seems to know so much.

Me: That’s wonderful!

(Duh!  Of course he does…He has a teacher for a Mama!)

Mrs. Teacher: He already knows all of the answers!

(Ok…here’s my chance to say it…I’m gonna say it….)

Me: Well, what are you going to do to challenge my child??

(Totally tongue in cheek ‘cuz I know how it is in the classroom.  That and the fact that he IS only three.)

 

I finally got to say it.

Ten years of teaching brought this question my way more than a bazillion times.

We love Frick’s teacher.  She is wonderful with her class, she is my coworker, and my ‘mentor’ this year.  I had so much fun being “one of those parents” and teasing her today.

I’m strange.  I know.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 22:40:46

    Oh gosh.
    I’m learning how to be on the flip side. I didn’t gain as much teaching experience as you did prior to becoming a mom, but I did have 2 full years, all-inclusive, plus my 2 years early experience then student teaching.

    I know what I appreciated most in parents (on the teaching end), and I strive to be that way on the parent end. It’s not easy, though!
    I think it’s hard because I don’t know ds’s teacher yet, and I still am figuring out how to read her.

    Please tell me I’m right? 🙂

    Mentor, friend, or “one of those” parents, I do hope she knows the answer to your question! 😉

  2. Mandy
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 22:52:33

    Yes, she does. 🙂 She seems to have a knack for reading this little kids. I am in awe of what she can do with her three year olds. I strive to be that teacher! I am going to take a field trip across the hall to observe her tomorrow! 🙂
    You are right, though! I think we (teachers, former teachers) are in the best parent position because we know what we appreciated from parents. We try to be that type of parent when issues involve our children.

  3. Mandy
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 22:53:16

    Geez, I meant THESE, not this. errrrrrr

  4. hyperactive lu
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 07:08:40

    🙂 I totally agree- present/former teachers make great parents when it comes to classroom-parent “etiquette”, discipline, etc…. 🙂

  5. Carol
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 15:42:44

    Hey it’ll keep her on her toes.

    Sounds like a clever little fella you got there.

  6. Crazy Momma
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 17:03:26

    Okay, I have always WANTED to be one of those parents…I just don’t have the nerve.

    Truth is, my 8 year old is very smart (not that I am biased) and he does not get challenged…

    Truth is, my 6 year old is smarter than anyone thinks (because he is on the autism spectrum) and he does not get challenged where he can be…

    But I know that we have great teachers who want what is best for them.

    Good for you for challenging her 🙂

Leave a Reply

