My Hero

 

Me and Pops 2003

 

Last Night my mom, BP and I attended my dad’s retirement party.  This was the very party that was postponed when he had the stroke.  

After dinner, Dad’s colleagues marched to the microphone to roast him and tell stories of his past days. This man stopped at NOTHING to rally his troops.  He even dressed up like barnyard animals–cows, pigs, and the occasional elf at Christmas.

 My dad emphasized the importance of teamwork in the workplace and showed the people that he cared for them.  He went the extra mile for them and they knew it.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the building. 

 I am so proud to say that I am his daughter.  

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clemsongirlandthecoach
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 18:52:07

    added the outfit… 🙂

  2. List Mama
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 22:55:15

    What a lovely tribute to your dad! I’m sure it was a night that your family will never forget.

    Jen
    http://www.ListPlanIt.com

  3. MK
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 04:11:41

    Aww…

  4. hyperactivelu
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 04:17:19

    Glad y’all had a nice evening to celebrate what your father has meant to so many people! I hope he enjoys retirement!!!!

Leave a Reply

