Whatcha Wanna Know #1

A few days ago, I wrote a post asking you to throw some questions at me.  Frick and Frack have not entertained much these last few days.  I suppose they are taking a breather from all things crazy.  With that said, I am turning to the reserve list.  The first question comes from Lu at Hyperactive Lu.  Our husbands work together and we often get our boys together for some play time.  She asks:

What do you love most about the boys being so close in age?

Everyone said having them close together would be the best thing.  I wasn’t so sure.  When Frick was six months old, I found out I was pregnant with Frack.  Never in a million years did I think this was going to happen.

But it did.

“Irish twins,” they said.

“How am I going to do this??”  I said.

I freaked out.

Literally.

Everyone was right.  I do love having them close in age.  But I didn’t at first.

I was induced with Frack and had a relatively easy delivery (thank you epidural!).  In fact, my doctor commented on how easy he came compared to Frick.  Of course, he was 2 pounds less than his whopper of a brother.  The first six weeks were extremely difficult trying to adjust to having two babies at home.  I was nursing Frack.  All Frick wanted was my attention, so he took to pulling down lamps, throwing things, and wailing if my attention was on his brother.  It got to a point where I had to put Frick in his crib each time I nursed because I could not figure out how to get him to stop.  I had a hard time relaxing and was extremely anxious.  Let’s just say I had to adjust.  But then, things just got easier.  I don’t remember a specific time…it just happened.

I love that the boys are best friends.  They have a constant playmate.  Granted, that causes problems in and of itself, but they always have someone else around.  They share a bedroom.  BP and I often listen to them as they drift to sleep or wake up.  It is heartwarming to hear them talking to each other, especially now that they can actually understand the other one.

Now, if we could just work on the screaming and wrestling….


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 22:49:00

    I guess I didn’t realize they were that close together! I can only imagine – it would be difficult but look how great they are together – just made you stronger. Thanks for sharing.

  2. hyperactivelu
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 23:30:44

    Thanks for sharing! 😉

  3. Sharon
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 17:52:21

    I found this to be so sweet. 🙂
    I wanted mine closer in age. God had other plans, but I appreciate others having theirs closer in age.
    I really think it’s true-that there is no greater gift for your child than a sibling.

  4. Carol
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 23:51:37

    Amen to that.

    Love it now but for one whole year I thought I was gonna lose my mind it was so hard.

    Now I wouldn’t have done it ay other way. In fact we’re thinknig of adding a third and I’m sad there will be a 3 year+ gap.

Leave a Reply

