The New Job

A little background for the newbies…

I have been a teacher since graduating from Clemson in 1998.  I taught 2nd grade in the public schools.  This past spring, I decided to leave the school system to be with my children at their preschool.  I will work for 4 hours in the morning and the boys will be there with me.  We will be saving an obscene amount of money by doing this instead of paying daycare and full tuition at school.  I am so excited about this change.  

I am certified in both Early Childhood and Elementary Education.  You would think that teaching second grade is all fun and games.  Since No Child Left Behind was passed and accountability for teachers was jammed down our throats, the fun stuff flew out the window.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved second grade and the students I taught.  That age is the perfect age group to teach…they are independent yet they love you to pieces.  But my daily teaching was dictated by the state standards.  I have longed for some time to just be able to teach without pressure.  

With the start of school looming on the horizon (I start in 2 weeks), I have compiled a list of the things I am most excited about teaching preschool:

 

1.  My children will be in classrooms on either side of my room.  I am practically a SAHM, but not really.  🙂

2.  I get to sing and dance and no one will laugh at me. Those are like my favorite things to do.  EVER.  

3.  I get to cut and color.  I love to cut and color!

4.  No pressure.

5.  I will have an aide.  I have already started to call her my New Best Friend.  She rocks.  

6.  If my kids get sick, I can just take them home.  The school will get someone else in the room and I can be Mom without all the guilt.  Guilt of leaving my classroom, guilt of feeling guilty because I am not there with my children.

7.  I only work in the mornings. 

 

I.CAN.NOT.WAIT.TO.START!

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactive lu
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 10:06:03

    Oh I am so excited for this new change! Especially the 4 hr days and getting to leave without the guilt! God is awesome….not only did He give you what you wanted….and is enabling you to save TONS of money! Wooo Hooo! Had a great time chatting with you tonight. We gotta make this a regular thing!

  2. Amanda
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 15:40:38

    Congrats!!! I know you can’t wait!!!
    So I knew about you and Clemson but did you tell me you are in SC still?

  3. Sharon
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:03:44

    That sounds PERFECT! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

    And I so know what you mean about the fun being taken out of teaching. We had at least 1-2 classes touching on it per semester, and then my 2nd year teaching came along. I swear I had more IEP meetings than actual parent-teacher conferences. More mention of “permanent record” than “well-being”. My dream job was looking less dreamy. 😦

    Yours sounds perfect, though! I am so happy for you!

  4. Jessica
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:41:49

    Congratulations! Sounds wonderful!

  5. Cassie
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 16:53:16

    Congratulations! Sounds like the perfect arrangement. I will keep you in my prayers. My oldest son in in 3rd grade and that whole No Child Left Behind nonsense is the worst thing that ever happened to education.

  6. Jenny
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 19:05:22

    How exciting! Congratulations on the new wonderful schedule! I’ve always been impressed with teachers. Thanks for doing what you do!

  7. Brandie Rodgers
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 02:30:23

    Mandy,
    Hey! I am Brandie Rodgers – Heather Wilson Gjesvold’s neighbor growing up!! My little boy, Isaac, will be in your 3 year old class this year. When Heather found out she told me “you will love her and so will Isaac”! Now we are so excited about beginning preschool too! I checked out your blog when Heather told me who you were ( I hope that doesn’t sound like stalking!!). Now I am addicted! You have a neat sight! I was so glad to hear you have two little boys – surely Isaac won’t do anything that shocks you!!! We’ll see you at Open House!!
    Brandie Rodgers

  8. Susan
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 03:47:19

    Congrats on the new job! It sounds like it will work out perfectly! 🙂

  9. Carol
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 14:08:01

    Hey thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday.

    I have a 3 and 2 year old too, 15 months apart. Both boys. Thomas and Eli.

    You are living the exact same life as me it would turn out. Too funny.

  10. Cassie
    Aug 16, 2008 @ 17:11:29

    Congrats on the preschool job. That does sound like it is a lot more relaxed and FUN! If I ever go back to teaching, I would love to do something like that.

  11. Carrie
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 21:41:14

    CONGRATS! I dream of a job like that. Daycare costs us $900 a month–so that is definetely the way to go if you can! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

