The Money Pit

The renovations are moving along.  A perk: three fourths of our front yard is actually owned by the city and is a park (we found that out when we closed on the house–great timing).  The city came last week, did a fab job with the landscaping and also put in an irrigation system.  We are extremely grateful. Frick, Frack and Cousin J had a blast last week watching the diggers out of the front windows.  The prolonged urge to gaze during what should have been nap time was swell (insert sarcasm here).  But, it was worth it for having a maintained, irrigated, and manicured front yard.  And we don’t have to pay for it–well, I suppose our tax dollars will pay for it, but still.  We’re technically not getting billed.

 

 But one problem remains….  We keep finding stuff to fix.  

*sigh*

Note to self:  When a quote is given to you, double it.  No, wait…TRIPLE it.

I’ll leave you with the song that plays in my head ALL.DAY.LONG.

Money, money, money 
Must be funny 
In the rich man’s world 
Money, money, money 
Always sunny 
In the rich man’s world 
Aha-ahaaa 
All the things I could do 
If I had a little money 
It’s a rich man’s world 

(Lyrics from the song Money, Money, Money by ABBA)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 07:39:43

    Hee hee! Bless y’alls hearts! When I heard y’all were having work done…I thought it would be a few weeks TOPS! Hoping its coming to an end?!

  2. MK
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 06:39:23

    I just LOVE reading this…I look at 3 things everyday, my email,
    bank account, and now “Frick and Frack’s blog!!! Love, love, love it!!!

  3. andrea
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 20:41:20

    I know how that is. When we start a project we think it’s going to be this much and your right, don’t double, triple. It will look so nice when your done. Good song! =)

  4. Jennifer
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 06:17:00

    I am wanting to buy a HUGE (see the twinkle in my eyes?) house in our neighborhood that is being sold “as is”–It is disgusting inside, needs all floors replaced, etc….Talk me out of it!…But wait–It’s being sold WAAAAYYYY under value…No, no, stop me. Remind me of the renovation hell.

Leave a Reply

