Open Can O’ Worms

After a serious morning of playing at the inflatable jumping place AND Chic-fil-A with Lu, Bubbie and Peanut, the boys totally passed out for their naps.  I walk into the office to check email.  There, glaring at me, is an email from my thought provoking brother regarding yesterday’s name poll.  Here are his two cents:

whoa, whoa, whoa.  you can’t just take my names and post them in some silly name game contest.  this is a serious shift for your blog, your audience, and most importantly your boys.  a little history: frick and frack were goofy performers in the ice follies 60+ years ago.  your boys are neither swiss nor ice skaters.  second, fred and barney were neighbors, but also family.  prehistoric man was inevitably related to his cave neighbors given the narrow gene pool.  the inbreeding was obviously OK at the time (and seems to remain so in parts of the South and West Virginia).  fred and barney loved each other and complemented each other’s idiosyncratic personalities.  they did not own a motor car, but did self-propel a vehicle with their feet (like your boys do in nini’s driveway with the big plastic car).  what’s more, fred is the more physically imposing figure, while barney, shorter in stature, is thick and can hold his own.   from a visual perspective, this is no contest.  if you or one of your readers can concoct a brotherly narrative that more closely mirrors the swiss dorks on ice, then i will rescind the proposed name change.  however, in lieu of a better case, i suggest that those who have already voted for ‘frick and frack’ reconsider.  

that is all.

 

 

 

OR

 

 

 

 

 

He even included the above graphics.  Oh, Uncle B, I appreciate the thought you put into these new names and your points have been taken seriously.  In fact, it seems you have me leaning towards Fred and Barney.  Anyone else?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hyperactivelu
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 23:52:38

    Hey chick. I am one of those ONES that voted for Frick and Frack! Those names fit them SOOO well, but I do agree with your brother. He made very good points and Fred and Barney ARE family! Something to definitely think about…. either way it works!

    BTW, my men are OUT…. I think we even wore Peanut out!!! Ha! We had a great time! Think about the train trip and let me know!

  2. Jennifer
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 01:43:27

    I love the points your brother makes–and LOVE LOVE LOVE the graphics!!! BUT (BIG but!) I only know these munchkins as Frick and Frack and I think if you changed their names, I would still think of them as Frick and Frack—“Frick” and “Frack” also sound like mischievous and adorable names–two fitting traits, I think! :o)

  3. nini
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 02:30:42

    I just wanna know when your brother is going to “fill in” on the
    Colbert Report? He’s missed his calling, or is he practicing on your Website? Lord knows he’s persuasive–I
    vote for Fred and Barney! Now, which one is Fred…..just
    kidding!
    Nini

  4. nini
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 02:32:03

    this space book stuff is so much fun!

  5. Angie @ Many Little Blessings
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 03:11:41

    I voted for Frick and Frack and am sticking with it solely for the fact that when I hear “Frick and Frack,” I think immediately of your boys, not Swedish ice dancers. Now, on the other hand, if you rename them Fred and Barney — no offense, but when I hear of Fred and Barney, I’m going to immediately think Flintstones (and picture them in my head, probably in a Fruity Pebbles commercial), not your boys.

    So…go either way, but I’m sticking by my Frick and Frack vote just so I don’t have to think of cartoon cavemen when you talk about the kids.

  6. RphChick
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 05:38:07

    That’s a lot of thought into bloggy names. LOL

    Love Frick and Frack though. Too cute. Just like them!

  7. Missy
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 06:54:59

    I haven’t voted yet. Can’t decide. Both names are good. And I LOVE the photos.
    Hmmmm… too hard to decide.

  8. Cassie
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 16:04:02

    Haha. He put a lot of thought into that! I vote for Fred & Barney, but only because that picture of their heads on F&B’s cartoon bodies is too too cute!

  9. MK
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 23:17:00

    I voted on Frick and Frack, that’s what you started with,…but,
    Fred and Barney are so cute, too! If I had seen your brothers
    remark, I probably would’ve voted for Fred and Barney, but
    I hate change, so there you go!

Leave a Reply

